Featured online resources

The most relevant and trusted information isn't on the web – it's in our databases, online resources we subscribe to. Your Library card gives you access to over 25,000 online magazines and newspapers. Search multiple databases at once, or if you have a particular interest, click on a featured database below.

Find answers to help you build your family tree, learn how to fix your car or learn a new language and you can do it all for free through the Library's subscriptions to many online resources. 

Featured databases

Browse our list of featured databases, or click here to see all databases.
Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

A general reference database for a wide range of academic subjects.

Ancestry Library

Ancestry Library (library usage only)

Contains name indexes and digitized records for researching family history.

Biography in Context

Biography in Context

Biographical information on more than one million people.

Business Source Complete - Enhanced

Business Source Complete - Enhanced

For market research, national economic reports, company information and industry profiles.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)

Use this database to find articles from a wide selection Canadian magazines and newspapers.

Canadian Newsstand

Canadian Newsstand

Search Canadian news coverage or read full-text articles of most major English language Canadian daily newspapers.

Career Cruising

Career Cruising

Interactive career guidance resource.

CareerAim

CareerAim

Delivers comprehensive coverage of job opportunities available in Canada.

This product is limited to 4 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete

Find up-to-date and relevent health and medical information.

ConsumerReports.org

ConsumerReports.org

Offers consumer product ratings, reviews, recommendations and advice that help make better purchasing decisions.

Encyclopædia Universalis

Encyclopædia Universalis

Encyclopédie généraliste française pour adultes.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Multi-disciplinary digital reference library of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference books

Globe and Mail

Globe and Mail

A complete scanned version of the newspaper from 1844 to 2009.

This product is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library

Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses and exam preparation for work and life at all school levels.

Library Press Display

Library Press Display

Read today’s newspapers from around the world on your own computer at home or in a branch.
Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

A collection of reviews, criticism, and biographical information about authors and their works.

Mango Languages

Mango Languages

A database for learning languages.

Database image

Naxos Music Library

Offers streaming access to over 1 million tracks ranging from classical and jazz to world music.  Can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime with your library card.  Also features an app that can be used on iPhones, iPads and Android devices.

NoveList

NoveList

Find book reviews and reading recommendations for fiction titles.
NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8

Information about fiction books for children of all ages.

ReferenceCanada

ReferenceCanada

A Canadian business directory containing information about competitors and potential customers/employers.

Science In Context

Science In Context

Science information for students that focuses on key concepts taught in schools. Includes general and research magazines, multimedia records, biographies, topic overviews and recommended websites.

Database image

Zinio

Hundreds of the most recent magazines available to read on your computer, tablet or mobile device.