Online Resources
-
-
Access Video on Demand is a streaming video platform with a focus on educational films. The collection includes 41,213 videos, 331,668 video segments and 1,094 subject categories. The topics range from Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Science, Mathematics and... -
Improve your reading skills using video, audio and stimulating activities. -
Contains name indexes and digitized records for researching family history.Ancestry LibraryAvailable for in-library use only
Important Notice: You can access Ancestry Library Edition in our library branches through desktop computers provided by our library or your own personal laptop, tablet, or mobile phone. (Remote access is not supported.)
-
A large assortment of streaming audiobooks that are always available. Includes fiction and nonfiction material for both adults and children. -
Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites. -
Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports. -
Canada’s Information Resource Centre now provides online access to five titles that we currently have in our collection: Canadian Almanac and Directory The Almanac section has its own pages and is searchable along with the directory. Associations Canada Introductory material... -
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,... -
This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and...Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
- Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
- Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
- Browse specific issues
-
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags. -
-
Popular and classic French-language eBooks and Canadian audiobooks. Compatible with most devices. The app Aldiko Next requires iOS 14 or higher.Help guide
-
Le Centre de documentation du Canada offre désormais accès en ligne à cinq ouvrages que nous avons actuellement dans notre collection imprimée : Répertoire et almanach canadien La section de l’almanach en ligne comporte ses propres pages et est consultable,...
-
Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, sur de multiples supports (livres, DVD, disques compacts, logiciels, etc). ChoixMédia se démarque par... -
-
Curio.ca offers access to thousands of commercial-free educational video and audio streams from CBC and Radio-Canada. Categories include Canadian history, health, business, children's programming, Indigenous studies and many others.If you would like to create playlists and use other personalized features of Curio.ca, you'll need to create an account by using access code: LWB9-RCBE
-
Use the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online to review the lives and achievements of individuals who played important roles in the formation of Canada. This major research and publishing project was launched by the University of Toronto and the Université... -
-
Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents. -
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history and... -
-
A collection of popular English fiction and nonfiction eBooks and audiobooks with a seven day loan period. -
-
A collection of popular fiction and nonfiction eAudio in French for all ages. -
Access from home will prompt you to re-enter your library card number.
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
- Login to Gale Academic Onefile by using your library account
- Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
- Select different years and browse specific issues
-
Multi-disciplinary digital reference library of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference books.Access from home will prompt you to re-enter your library card number.
-
For market research, company performance profiles, investment reports, and industry news and trends, and coverage on management and economics.Access from home will require that you re-enter your library card number.
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
- Login to Gale OneFile: Business by using your library account
- Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
- Select different year and browse specific issues
-
Magazines and journals on general topics and specific business & Economics and Small Business topics. Most titles are American publications. Read magazines online; search the entire collection for articles with information.Access from home will require you to re-enter your library card number.
-
This digitized version of The Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered. Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search. -
Grant Connect is a fundraising platform that connects charities with funders who share their cause. Find new prospects by searching comprehensive data managed by the expert research team.With Grant Connect, you have access to: Over 11,000 Canadian foundations, 560 corporate...Grant ConnectAvailable for in-library use only
Grant Connect is available for in-library use only.
-
Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institute. Includes baptism and death certificates (1621-1849), the Fond Drouin registries from 1621 to 1967,... -
The Hilltimes.com – Canada’s political and government news service Customers can access PDF versions of Ottawa's own twice-weekly newspaper, as well as previous, achieved issues back to 2004, or download and print a copy. They can also search articles dating...
-
This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows and complete music albums.OPL has extended your Hoopla play credit from 4 to 6 per month. It is a special gift for you to celebrate October Library month. Let's be connected, inspired and entertained together every day!
You can stream or temporarily download up to 6 titles per month per card from now on.
By popular request, hoopla is now available on Android Auto! Listen to music more safely and easily using your vehicle's in-dash display.
May Bonus Borrows now on hoopla!
The Great Courses Library Collection is available at BingePass -Unlimited Streaming for 7 days with a single borrow.
High-quality and engaging documentaries and nonfiction from Curiosity Stream are available at BingePass too.
-
iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
-
Over 8,092 fun and informative video and audio titles featuring Berenstain Bears, Franklin the Turtle, Wild Kratts and many more. Subject areas include arts, music, animals, sports, hobbies, math, science and reading. More than 430 educational interactives are also available. -
Kanopy offers a large collection of high quality films and documentaries from art-house classics to world cinema.- You can watch up to 4 films per month per card.
- You can check out 1 series from The Great Courses per month per card with 30 days of access
- Unlimited plays for any video in Kanopy Kids and any trailer.
- Kanopy can now be found in the Extras section of the Overdrive Libby app.
- The Kanopy app and all the ways for you to browse, stream, and enjoy videos from Kanopy remain unchanged.
-
Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses and exam preparation for work and life at all school levels. -
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship. -
LinkedIn Learning for Library is an upgrade to the previous Lynda Library product, providing continued lifelong learning opportunities for all.- From March 31st, 2022, any customers who have not yet logged into LinkedIn Learning for Library will not have their Lynda history migrated over.
- LinkedIn Learning mobile app is now available. Please activate/access LinkedIn Learning via the desktop first, then move to the mobile app for an easier sign in experience on mobile.
- To sign in, click Sign in with your library card, enter “LibraryID” as “ottawa”, www.linkedin.com/learning-login/go/ottawa, Click Continue, and from there enter your library card # and PIN.
- For course completions, a customer will not get a certificate in their name, the customer will see completions in their history but won’t get a copy with their name.
- The library version of LinkedIn Learning can’t connect with customer’s personal LinkedIn account.
-
Mango Languages offers 40 online language learning courses for English speakers and 15 English courses for non-English speakers. -
You can change the language setting to be English, French, Spanish and Russian
Help guide
-
Offers streaming access to over 1 million tracks of classical music.- This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
- Mobile App activation code is : OttawaPLpd9VOT , 1. Download App 2. Select "Connect with your institution. 3. Type in the above activation code, 4. Click "SUBMIT" 5. Create account. 6. Check your email to activate Naxos Music Library personal playlist account.
- Naxos Music Library has been upgraded from Standard Sound Quality (128kbps) to Premium Sound Quality (320 kbps) The default setting is Premium Sound Quality, but you can unselect the premium and convert to standard.
-
This includes a mix of jazz legends and contemporary jazz and can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. You can also listen to this resource through the Naxos Music Library app for iPhones, iPads and Android devices. Please note...This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLjazPD08EYD, 1. Download App. 2. Select "Connect with your institution. 3. Type in the above activation code., 4. Click "SUBMIT" 5. Create account. 6. Check your email to activate Naxos Music Library Jazz personal playlist account.., Naxos Music Library Jazz has been upgraded from Standard Sound Quality (128kbps) to Premium Sound Quality (320 kbps) The default setting is Premium Sound Quality, but you can unselect the premium and convert to standard.
-
Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented, over 1.500 cultural groups represented, and music from over 150 countries. Enjoy the complete...This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLnmlwPD4NXC, 1. Download App 2. Select "Connect with your institution. 3. Type in the above activation code., 4. Click "SUBMIT" 5. Create account. 6. Check your email to activate Naxos Music Library World personal playlist account.
Naxos Music Library World has been upgraded from Standard Sound Quality (128kbps) to Premium Sound Quality (320 kbps) The default setting is Premium Sound Quality, but you can unselect the premium and convert to standard.
-
Naxos MusicBox is a brand new carefully produced and beautifully presented music resource for children. Naxos MusicBox is an educational tool. It offers friendly, informative written texts, colourful and clear design, and tailored playlists of over 4,000 audio tracks. Selections...- Teacher or Parents access : Username: OttawaPLnmbTR , Password: C%h8S!Y#, Teachers or Parents can access everything on the site, including a section of ‘With a teacher’ class activities and accompanying PDF resources, giving clear guidance on what to do.
- Student access :, Username: OttawaPLnmbST , Password: hy=6bA3D, Students can access everything on screen, but no PDFs – so no resources or information sheets.
-
Listen to the world's literature! Access the complete catalogue of critically acclaimed Naxos audiobooks, with transcriptions available for English language learning. Categories for Children's Classics, Classic Fiction, and Shakespeare's plays. New titles are added monthly.This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLSWpd04QXE, 1. Download App 2. Select "Connect with your institution. 3. Type in the above activation code., 4. Click "SUBMIT" 5. Create account. 6. Check your email to activate Naxos Spoken Word Library personal playlist account.
-
- Le maximum d’utilisateurs simultanés est de 5. Si vous n’arrivez pas à ouvrir une session, veuillez réessayer plus tard.
-
Un seul utilisateur peut se connecter à la fois. Si vous n’arrivez pas à ouvrir une session, veuillez réessayer plus tard.
-
Help guide
-
NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,500 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca )...NFB (National Film Board) CampusAvailable for in-library use only
-
NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers. -
Looking for your next book? Want to find more authors like your favorites? NoveList Plus has all your reading answers. Find books that match your interests, read-alikes for your favorite titles and authors, or ready-made book lists on your favorite genres. With NoveList Plus you'll fill up your to-read list in no time! -
A searchable archive of 30 days which is part of the database Library PressDisplay. Articles can be translated into German, Greek, Spanish or French. The viewer can also listen to individual articles in any of these languages. To access articles... -
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. -
eBooks and downloadable audiobooks. Compatible with most devices.Between May 3 and July 28, 2022, OverDrive will perform server upgrades to enhance the performance and security of the systems. Your OverDrive experience will be impacted for approximately 60 minutes or less between 6 a.m. and 8 a.m. Eastern Time on Tuesdays and Thursdays only during the period noted above. Sorry for the inconvenience.
-
Hundreds of the most recent magazines available to read on your computer, tablet or mobile device.For PC & Mac computers Libbyapp.com offers all the same great features as the app except the ability to download loans for offline use. You'll still be able to read and listen to your loans as long as you're connected to the internet., For Android & iOS device, You can access titles offline through the Libby app on an Android or iOS device if you'd like
-
600,000 words … 3.5 million quotations … over 1000 years of English The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely acknowledged to be the most authoritative and comprehensive record of the English language in the world. It is an unsurpassed guide...Help guide
-
Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants. -
Read today’s 7,000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world.- You don’t need to create a separate PressReader account, without a PressReader account, you can still access any of the titles offered by Ottawa Public Library on PressReader.
- All you need is a library card and pin to sign in via a login page on the OPL website or PressReader App. That’s it!
- Access to The Globe and Mail is limited to customers using PressReader in a library branch due to restrictions imposed by the publisher.
- The Washington Post is no longer available from the PressReader platform as per the publisher's request. However, full text access for The Washington Post is available from our other two databases: Academic OneFile and Gale OneFile: Business.(delayed 1 day).
- Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available from Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest. It doesn't include the pictures, charts or graphs, but it is searchable.
- The Wall Street Journal is now available from PressReader.,
- Customers logged in through App need to re-authenticate after 30 days while Customers logged in through EzProxy (via library website) need to re-authenticate after 2 days.
- For the downloads storage, customers have the option to choose how long they wanted to keep the downloaded back issues.
-
-
A directory of 2.1 million Canadian company profiles compiled from telephone directories, annual reports, government data, chamber of commerce information, business magazines, newspapers, specialty directories, and postal services information. Enables entrepreneurs, job-hunters, and consumers to find businesses in any industry... -
The Road to IELTS - Academic module provides an introduction, advice and tutorials, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests. These will help people prepare for the IELTS academic exam for higher education or professional registration in an... -
The Road to IELTS- General Training module provides an introduction, advice and tutorial, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests. These will help people prepare General Training test for immigration, secondary education, work experience or training programs in...
-
SOLARO is an online study resource. All learning content and subjects (English, Mathematics, Science, Biology, Chemistry, and Physics) from Grade 3 to Grade 12 are aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.- Customers will need to enter a library card the first time to request a SOLARO Account.
- You can then use this information to log in to the website www.solaro.com or to log in through the SOLARO app on your mobile devices.
-
A collection of Graphic Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources and audiobooks, perfect for middle school and high school students. It features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read...TumbleBookCloud Jr is no longer active. Any k-6 titles from this resource are available on TumbleBook Library. There were some titles in TumbleBookCloud Jr. (TBC JR) that were created to the upper middle schoolers, those are available on Teen Book Cloud.
-
ESL program that helps students improve their reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and grammar skills in five levels. -
Free and unlimited online courses in French. Learn languages, sewing, singing, coding for kids, and more! -
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.TumbleBookCloud Jr is no longer active. Any k-6 titles from this resource are available on TumbleBook Library. There were some titles in TumbleBookCloud Jr. (TBC JR) that were created to the upper middle schoolers, those are available on TeenBookCloud.
-
TumbleMath is a comprehensive collection of online math, story and picture books that includes full narration and animation. Lesson plans and quizzes are available and specifically written to address math standards. -
The Value Line Investment Survey and Small & Midcap Survey offers access to over 3,500 stocks across 100 industries. This includes analysts’ reports, statistics and forecasts of stock performance.Notice: This product is limited to 6 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Customers accessing Value Line from outside a library branch will have to enter a Barcode number (Your library card barcode number) to sign in to Value Line..
