50+ Short Story Contest

About the 50+ Short Story Contest:

  • Participants must be 50 years of age or older and possess a valid library card .
  • Participants may submit up to two stories in English or French.
  • Stories must be original and unpublished works of a single author.
  • Stories must be no more than 2000 words in length.
  • Submissions will be accepted between April 5 and May 31, 2017.
  • Submissions will not be returned to participants.

Preparing your entry:

  • Your story must be typed (not handwritten).
  • The story’s title should appear on every page of the story.
  • Ensure that your name does not appear on any of the story’s pages.

Submitting your entry:

  1. Submit your story online at  BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca/en/50plus. (No cover letter required.)
  2. Submit your story by mail or in person at any Library branch or Bookmobile stop:
  • Attach a cover sheet to each submission that includes:

    • Your name, address, and telephone number
    • Your library card number
    • Your e-mail address (optional)
    • The story’s title and its length (in words and in  pages)
  • Direct the submission to:

Ottawa Public Library
50+ Short Story Contest
Attn: Sheri Riviere
Main branch, 5th floor, 120 Metcalfe, Ottawa, ON K1P 5M2

  • Postmark your entry by May 31, 2017.

Get writing tips:  

  • Register for a workshop hosted by a local author, and contest judge!

Wednesday, April 19 - 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Peter Scotchmer
Stittsville branch, 1637 Stittsville Main
Register here.

Wednesday, April 26 - 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Deborah-Anne Tunney
Beaverbrook branch, 2500 Campeau 
Register here.

Monday, May 1 – 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Deborah-Anne Tunney
Greenboro branch, 363 Lorry Greenberg
Register here.

Tuesday, May 9 – 2:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Deborah-Anne Tunney
Main branch, 120 Metcalfe
Register here.

Saturday, May 13– 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Peter Scotchmer
Nepean Centrepointe branch, 101 Centrepointe 
Register here.

Wednesday May 24– 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.
Michèle Vinet (en français)
St-Laurent branch, 515 Côté
Register here.


  • Contest winners will be announced June 30, 2017.
  • Prizes will be awarded during an afternoon of storytelling on October 4, 2017.

Submit your short story

(You must have your library card to submit your work.)