• Current In-Person Services

    19/10/2020

    22 of our branches and the Bookmobile are open for modified services at this time. For details on our current in-person services, visit: https://biblioottawalibrary.ca/en/current-branch-services.

    Visit our Hours and Locations page for our current branch hours and our Bookmobile page for the current Bookmobile schedule.

    MANDATORY:  Masks are required to be worn inside Ottawa Public Library branches, as per theTemporary Mandatory Mask By-law. Customers who are not wearing masks will not be allowed inside branches. Exceptions apply for people with medical exemptions.

You are here

Author Discussion with Christina Hammonds Reed

Web Banner for Christina Hammonds Reed

“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming

Join us as Christina Hammonds Reed discusses her first novel, The Black Kids. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

You can attend via Zoom (please register to receive the link) or by Facebook Live.

This event is presented by the Ottawa International Writers Festival's The Republic Of Childhood and OPL's Ottawa Reads YA/Ottawa Bouquine.

Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. A native of the Los Angeles area, her work has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review and One Teen Story. The Black Kids is her first novel.

We encourage our audiences to read widely, and shop (or borrow) locally. Please click to see the featured author's books in the library catalogue: Christina Hammonds Reed. A limited number of signed books are available from our friends at Perfect Books.