Provincial State of Emergency: Impact to OPL Services

13/01/2021

OPL services have not been impacted by the provincial announcement on Tuesday, January 12. Curbside returns and holds pickup services will continue at open branches.

Hours of operation will remain the same for most branches. Greely, North Gower, and Richmond branches will shift their hours to close by 8 p.m., and all Bookmobile stops will close by 8 p.m.

For details about current services, please visit this page.

HOLDS: If you would like to pause, cancel, or manage your holds, you can do so in your online account

You are here

Author Discussion with Christina Hammonds Reed

Web Banner for Christina Hammonds Reed

“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming

Join us as Christina Hammonds Reed discusses her first novel, The Black Kids. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

You can attend via Zoom (please register to receive the link) or by Facebook Live.

This event is presented by the Ottawa International Writers Festival's The Republic Of Childhood and OPL's Ottawa Reads YA/Ottawa Bouquine.

Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. A native of the Los Angeles area, her work has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review and One Teen Story. The Black Kids is her first novel.

We encourage our audiences to read widely, and shop (or borrow) locally. Please click to see the featured author's books in the library catalogue: Christina Hammonds Reed. A limited number of signed books are available from our friends at Perfect Books.