Battle of the Books Week 1: results, readalikes and prizes

10/07/2017

  

This week, Dan vs. Nature by Don Calame had the least amount of votes and has unfortunately been eliminated from the battle. 

If you really enjoyed reading this book, you may also want to give these readalike books a try!

King Dork by Frank Portman

 

 

 

 

Denton Little's Death Date by Lance Rubin

 

 

 

 

I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I want to be your Class President by Josh Lieb

 

 

 

 

Winger by Andrew Smith

 

 

 

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

 

 

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for Dan vs. Nature? In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All of the comments on  this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $25 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comments by midnight Sunday, July 16th (one entry per comment). The winner will be contacted on Monday, July 17th. Good luck!

Voting for the next round of the Battle of the Books is now open!

 

 

 

Comments

It's funny and light read that puts you in a good mood!

It's funny and light read that puts you in a good mood!

For anyone that appreciates a good pun, Dan vs Nature is a play on words of Man vs Nature (a type of literary conflict). Hopefully this will make someone else laugh as well!

Beauty Queens shares the same kind of survivalist plot paired with plenty of humour. It's about a plane full of beauty pageant contestants crash landing on a deserted island and now having to rely on nothing but their own wits to survive. Hilarity, along with a strong commentary on everything from gender roles to consumerism, ensues.

I would probably recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days for anybody younger or Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson. The reason I picked these books is that they have some aspects of Dan vs Nature, from the summary. ( I haven't read it but it sounds interesting) First, I

I would probably recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days for anybody younger or Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson. The reason I picked these books is that they have some aspects of Dan vs Nature, from the summary. ( I haven't read it but it sounds interesting) First, I recommended Dog Days because the book has a major plot revolving around a son and father trip. Finally, I recommend Since You've Been Gone, a contemporary novel. I picked it because of the themes of friendship and it's heartfelt moments.
If you want to read some books this summer, consider picking up these two books.
Thanks, J

I would probably recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because is has cheese, there are pranks and it would most likely be voted off. Mostly guys read it sooooooooooooo. JK I read it

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

I would probably recommend Lord of the Flies because only a guy would have the stomach for this, joking I read it and it's gross and guys are gross too. I also would recommend Diary of a Wimpy Kid because it is the cheese just like Dan Vs Nature. Pranks and some good stuff. And there are guys involved. GIVE ME MONEY

Go back one year in time to the 2016 White Pine award nominee THE TROOP. It involves the same wilderness camping ideas, with just a touch more horror.

Though I did not like Dan vs. Nature, may I recommend Denton Little's Death Date. It is humorous, but not sickeningly so like the aforementioned.

Was not my favorite but it was interesting :)

Be More Chill by Ned Vizzini is definitely similar. It has the same nerdy-teenage-boy-trying-to- survive-high-school-with-his-best-friend-and-maybe-get-a-girl-along-the-way bit, but with a sci-fi twist to it. It's funny in a way that's slightly different from Dan vs. Nature; Be More Chill is a little more cynical in its approach. Be More Chill is also an older book - written in 2005 but set in 2015 - but if you enjoyed Dan vs Nature, you'll probably like Be More Chill.

I would recommend A Series of Unfortunate Events if you liked Dan vs Nature.

whats the connection?

I would suggest "An Abundance of Katherines" by John Green. There's the same, nerdy weak guy as the main character, and his equally nerdy and shy best friend. There's also both an adventure element and going out to an unknown location, that is for sure going to lead to distress and failure. I realized that both the main characters and snarky and have some great one liners.

I was so excited when this years Battle of the Books rolled around the corner! I eagerly read every book synopsis and actually am planning to head over to my local Coles to order Delilah Dirk! It sounds awesome and I love graphic novels and some of my favorite graphic novelists have approved. This only proved that I have to pick it up. Thanks BotB!!!

For those who enjoyed Dan vs. Nature, I would recommend Great Falls by Steve Watkins. Happy Readings!