Battle of the Books Week 2: results, readalikes and prizes

17/07/2017

 

 

 

 

 

     

This week, Good Girls by Shalta Dicaire Fardin and Sarah Sahagian had the least amount of votes and has unfortunately been eliminated from the battle. 

If you really enjoyed reading this book, you may also want to give these readalike books a try!

    Romancing the Throne, by Nadine Jolie Courtney

 

 

 

 

 

 

     The Fall of Butterflies, by Andrea Portes     

 

 

 

 

 

 

   Manners & Mutiny, by Gail Carriger    

 

 

 

 

 

 

    I'd Tell You I Love You, but Then I'd Have to Kill You, by Ally Carter

 

 

 

 

 

 

   A Study in Charlotteby Brittany Cavallaro   

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for Good Girls? In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it.

Once you comment on the blog post (English or French) your username will be entered in a draw for the weekly $25 Chapters gift card prize. One entry per username. Enter your comments by midnight Sunday, July 23. The winner will be contacted on Monday, July 24. Good luck!

Voting for the next round of the Battle of the Books is now open!

Comments

First of all, I have to admit that I did not enjoy the book. Being a feminist, of course I wanted to enjoy it; however I found the writing clumsy, and I also do not understand why the authors gave their protagonists love interests that were much older than them. I also disliked the fact that the only information given on a character who made a racist comment is that she is from Frankfurt, as though it were an accepted fact that of course all Germans hold these views.
However, for those who did enjoy this book I recommend The Handmaid's Tale. The novel is told in the voice of Offred, who is. Handmaid in a future America now called Gilead, which means her role is to bear children for the upper classes. The style and genre of these two novels are very different; however The Handmaid's Tale provides a truly feminist analysis of many issues currently faced by women. I think it is a good introductory text that will hopefully encourage women to read other feminist works as well.

The Anti-Prom by Abby McDonald reminds me of Good Girls. It's the same trope of having each character be a stereotype and making it blatantly obvious that they would never be friends, but then, surprise!, they actually end up as friends by the end of the book. I enjoyed The Anti-Prom more than Good Girls but the two books focus on school and friends and (of course) the drama that happens within teenagers. Also they both include a group of girls as the main characters, which is pretty cool!

The intense private school and central female character(s) in Good Girls reminds me of Pink by Lili Wilkinson. Both books had characters that didn't seem like they'd get along but ended up as friends in the end. They both centre on teenage girls in a tough academic high school, although the school in Pink is co-ed and so there's also teen boys within that group of main characters. Pink was better, in my opinion, but they both showed the pressures of high school.

IDK what to write...

A book that is I would say is pretty similar to this book is Burn for Burn. It's a good read and I find both books deal with similar subjdcts. Happy readings!

Another readalike for Good Girls would be Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. It's a goodread for teens and can enlighten you to friendships.

I would probably recommend any novels by Sarah dessen

The Books that I would want to recommend are Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson. These books are both books that have a summer vibe to them. Also, SYBG also revolves around two girls and their adventures

I recommend dead girls society by Michelle kryss. It's about a girl that has cystic fibrosis and is locked up in her room until she gets a mysterious email. Her and a few girls from her school have to do some challenges and last one standing wins