You are here

  • Contactless Returns and Holds Pickup Service at OPL


    OPL is offering contactless returns and holds pickup service at select branches, during new hours of operation. Find the details of this new service and branch opening dates here.

    • RETURNS will be accepted only during hours of operation, no appointment necessary. Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • HOLDS PICKUPS are by appointment only. Make an appointment here.

    In accordance with Ottawa Public Health directive, please wear a mask when entering a branch.

    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact  InfoService by phone or email.

Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit, and Métis YA Literature


Happening Today!  The winner of the Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit, and Métis YA Literature will be announced at Kitigan Zibi School in Maniwaki. Here is the short list...

  • Fire Song by Adam Garnet Jones (published by Annick Press)
  • The Journey Forward: Two Novellas on Reconciliation by Richard Van Camp (When We Play Our Drums, They Sing!) and Monique Gray Smith (Lucy & Lola).  (McKeller and Martin)
  • The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline (published by Dancing Cat/Cormorant)

The short list was chosen by a jury panel comprised of Nancy Cooper, Adina Duffy, Wilfred Burton, Michelle Corneau and 14-year-old book lover Eden Gepner Bourgeois.

The CODE Burt award is a cash prize for First Nations, Inuit, and Métis YA Literature. Tthe winner receives $10,000, and each of the honour books receives $2,000.00. Publishers of the winning titles are also awarded a guaranteed purchase of up to 2,500 copies of each title. These books are then distributed for free to schools, libraries, community centres, and friendships centres across Canada. This guaranteed purchase, combined with a book distribution program, is what makes this award program unique. It ensures that great books make it into the hands of young readers who need them the most, with new titles coming out every year!

Stay tuned for an update on the winner.

UPDATE!!  Congratulations to Cherie Dimaline for The Marrow Thieves -- This year's winner!


Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Metis YA Litby Steacy_Library

This list includes the are the short and long lists, some past year's winners and some great Aboriginal YA fiction...