Regular hours resumed Sept. 7, 2021

15/10/2021

Ottawa Public Library has returned to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches as of September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService. Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

 

Carp Branch

18/10/2021

Carp branch will be closed on Tuesday, October 26, 2021 for operational use by the City of Ottawa. Regular service will resume Wednesday,  October 27, 2021 at 10 am. 

Overdrive: Issues with older Apple devices or browsers

12/10/2021

Recent changes by Overdrive and Libby have impacted compatibility with older versions of Apple's mobile and desktop operating systems. Those who use older Apple devices (Mac computers running lower than macOS 10.12.1 and iPhones/iPads running iOS 9) may have trouble using the OverDrive desktop or mobile apps, while Libby is no longer supported on iPhones and iPads running iOS 9.

Carlingwood branch: Elevator out of service

18/10/2021

The elevator at Carlingwood branch is currently out of service. 

Alta Vista branch: Reopening October 22

21/10/2021

Alta Vista branch will return to regular service and hours on Friday, October 22, 2021.

You are here

Discover new authors and read-alikes via Novelist!

Sep 03, 2020

 

Have you read all the books by your favorite author and are not sure what to read next? Do we have the tool for you! NoveList Plusprovides recommendations, read-alikes, genre based book lists and more! It’s also very user friendly.

On our webpage, visit the online resources section for the link for Novelist Plus.  It will prompt you for your library card number and pin.

Novelist has a search bar at the top of the screen which allows the user to search by keyword, author, title, series or narrator.  This is a quick and easy way to find a readalike! For example, when I type in author Silvia Moreno-Garcia, NoveList provides a mini biography (did you know that she is Mexican-Canadian!) and description of the genres and types of work she creates.  It also provides information on characters, storylines, tone, and writing styles.

NoveList also provides a listing of the author’s works, along with title read -alikes and author read-alike links and recommendations.  If you would prefer to search via specific story elements you enjoyed, if you scroll to the bottom of the page you can conduct a personalized read-alike search based on genre, storyline, location etc.

If you are not sure what you are looking for, and would just like to browse, NoveList provides a browse by drop down menu at the top left of the page, where you can choose to browse by genre, appeal, themes, audiobooks, and award winners. Recommended reading lists are also available on the main page, and contain all sorts of great options, including Canadian fiction, and ‘Always in demand.’ They also provide a quick link drop down menu which contains book club resources, grab and go booklists, books to movies and more.

If you are searching for children’s materials, you can also check out NoveList K-8which specializes in read-alikes for younger readers.

Looking for some more tips and tricks from NoveList? Check out their tutorials below for more information, or check out the handy ‘How do I?’ section of the Novelist website.

 

The OPL team is always happy to answer any questions you may have regarding Novelist and to provide readers’ advisory in person and online!  Also, check us out on select Thursdays during #AskaLibrarianon Twitterfor reading recommendations, book queries, and more!

Mexican Gothicby charmaine_library

These books contain similar themes, genres, tones, and characters as Mexican Gothic! Moreno-Garcia is a Mexican- Canadian who writes horror, speculative fiction, mythological fiction, as well as thrillers and fantasy. Recommendations provided by NoveList Plus!

NoveList 101