Step 1: Contactless services inside most open branches

14/06/2021

There are contactless services inside most of our 31 open branches, with capacity limits in place, as of June 14, 2021, except at Metcalfe Village, Orléans and Rosemount. This means:

  • Holds can be picked up on shelves and checked out at self-checkout stations.
  • Borrowed items can be returned via book drops anytime.
  • Access to PCs, Chromebooks, and printing, where these are available.
  • Hours of operation remain the same, except at Osgoode.
  • Mask-wearing remains mandatory inside, and outside in line.

For details, go to Current Branch Services.

You are here

Discover new authors and read-alikes via Novelist!

03/09/2020

 

Have you read all the books by your favorite author and are not sure what to read next? Do we have the tool for you! NoveList Plus provides recommendations, read-alikes, genre based book lists and more! It’s also very user friendly.

On our webpage, visit the online resources section for the link for Novelist Plus.  It will prompt you for your library card number and pin.

Novelist has a search bar at the top of the screen which allows the user to search by keyword, author, title, series or narrator.  This is a quick and easy way to find a readalike! For example, when I type in author Silvia Moreno-Garcia, NoveList provides a mini biography (did you know that she is Mexican-Canadian!) and description of the genres and types of work she creates.  It also provides information on characters, storylines, tone, and writing styles.

NoveList also provides a listing of the author’s works, along with title read -alikes and author read-alike links and recommendations.  If you would prefer to search via specific story elements you enjoyed, if you scroll to the bottom of the page you can conduct a personalized read-alike search based on genre, storyline, location etc.

If you are not sure what you are looking for, and would just like to browse, NoveList provides a browse by drop down menu at the top left of the page, where you can choose to browse by genre, appeal, themes, audiobooks, and award winners. Recommended reading lists are also available on the main page, and contain all sorts of great options, including Canadian fiction, and ‘Always in demand.’ They also provide a quick link drop down menu which contains book club resources, grab and go booklists, books to movies and more.

If you are searching for children’s materials, you can also check out NoveList K-8 which specializes in read-alikes for younger readers.

Looking for some more tips and tricks from NoveList? Check out their tutorials below for more information, or check out the handy ‘How do I?’ section of the Novelist website.

 

The OPL team is always happy to answer any questions you may have regarding Novelist and to provide readers’ advisory in person and online!  Also, check us out on select Thursdays during #AskaLibrarian on Twitter for reading recommendations, book queries, and more!

Mexican Gothicby charmaine_library

These books contain similar themes, genres, tones, and characters as Mexican Gothic! Moreno-Garcia is a Mexican- Canadian who writes horror, speculative fiction, mythological fiction, as well as thrillers and fantasy. Recommendations provided by NoveList Plus!

NoveList 101