You are here

  • WEBSITE MAINTENANCE ALERT:

    Access to the catalogue and customer accounts will be intermittent on Sunday, May 19, starting at 7 pm, until Monday, May 20 at 7 pm.

Five books to read if you enjoyed The Catcher in the Rye

28/10/2016

Hi readers!  Let me introduce myself… my name is Lucy, and I love to read!

 

I’m a nerdy grade eleven student at Canterbury High School in the Literary Arts Program, so it will come as no surprise that I love to write, also. Some of my favourite novels include Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, Alice Munro’s Who Do You Think You Are?, and Margaret Atwood’s Cat’s Eye. As you can tell, I’m a big fan of CanLit, and I’m going to centre many of my upcoming posts around our national and local reads. I also think that we should read books that are in the adult’s section… why not?

 

Aside from books and writing, I’m really interested in history. I love visiting museums and reading historical fiction (and I’ll write about some of my historical faves later on).

 

Anyhow, I’m really excited about this opportunity––a chance to spread my opinions far and wide. And I’d love to hear from you... if you have any thoughts.

 

Five books to read if you enjoyed The Catcher in the Rye

The Catcher in the Rye is a classic coming-of-age novel about being a confused and cynical teenager. Here are some similarly angsty titles that I’ve enjoyed:  

1.Miriam Toew’s A Complicated Kindness. Nomi Nickel is a defiant teen girl trapped in a broken family and a repressive Mennonite community. A Canadian coming-of-age novel with distinct and ironic narrative voice.

2. Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar. Esther Greenwood shares many of Holden’s misanthropic views. After getting an internship at a leading New York fashion magazine, Esther becomes increasingly disenfranchised with the “fake” world as she spirals into depression.

3. S.E. Hinton's’ The Outsiders. Socioeconomic status divides groups of teenagers in this coming-of-age novel set in Tulsa in 1965. The Outsiders is a novel about (surprise!) being an outsider, and searching for your place in the world.  

4.Evan Roskos’ Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets. An anxious and sensitive teenager finds comfort in Walt Whitman’s poetry and hugging trees as he tries to cope with the loss of his sister. A gentler, less edgy read then the others.

5. Susan Juby’s The Truth Commission. Contrary to how much Holden decries the “phonies” of his world, the protagonist in The Truth Commission, Normandy Pale, and her eccentric friends have a passion for uncovering the truth. This leads to disaster when their truth-seeking re-opens old wounds and causes familial rifts. An amusing read about art school students with plenty of footnotes!  

 

Ottawa Public Library’s Teen Bloggers in Residence are fantastic teen volunteer writers from across the city. They blog about their favourite teen reads and authors, and get writing assignments to cover special teen events happening at the library. Their residency rotates throughout the year. Call-outs for upcoming terms are made through the Teen Blog in May/June, September/October and January/February.