Step 1: Contactless services inside most open branches


There are contactless services inside most of our 31 open branches, with capacity limits in place, as of June 14, 2021, except at Metcalfe Village, Orléans and Rosemount. This means:

  • Holds can be picked up on shelves and checked out at self-checkout stations.
  • Borrowed items can be returned via book drops anytime.
  • Access to PCs, Chromebooks, and printing, where these are available.
  • Hours of operation remain the same, except at Osgoode.
  • Mask-wearing remains mandatory inside, and outside in line.

For details, go to Current Branch Services.

You are here

Ottawa Book Award 2020 Winners! McLachlin, Sylvain, Beisel, Ladouceur, Messier


Congratulations to our Ottawa writers!  In an online awards ceremony Covid-19 style, the Ottawa Book Award Winners were announced with the esteemed Beverley McLachlin, our first female chief justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, winning best non-fiction for Truth Be Told: My Journey Through Life and the Law.  Henry Beisel's collection of poetry Footprints of Dark Energy won for English-language fiction, Premier quart by Véronique Sylvain won in the French-language literary category  - also a winner of the Trillium in 2020.  Trésor by Mireille Messier won for French-language children's literature.  Poetry gets one last shout-out in this Ottawa cluster of literary awards with Ben Ladouceur's Mad Long Emotion winning the Archibald Lampman Award.

Celebrate their success - read their books!  Find them at the Library, or purchase your own copies for yourself or as gifts.  There's a long winter ahead!

Image: Truth Be Told

Truth Be Told

My Journey Through Life and the Law
By McLachlin, Beverley
Image: Premier quart

Premier quart

By Sylvain, Véronique
Image: Trésor


By Messier, Mireille
Image: Mad Long Emotion

Mad Long Emotion

By Ladouceur, Ben