Current In-Person Services

18/11/2020

OPEN BRANCHES: 22 of our branches and the Bookmobile are currently open for modified services at this time.

Additional branches will reopen for contactless returns and holds pickup in the fall and early winter. Details: https://biblioottawalibrary.ca/en/blogs/updates-new-branch-reopening-dates

HOURS AND LOCATIONS: for current branch hours.

BOOKMOBILE: for the current Bookmobile stops schedule.

MANDATORY: Masks are required to be worn inside Ottawa Public Library branches, as per theTemporary Mandatory Mask By-law. Customers who are not wearing masks will not be allowed inside branches. Exceptions apply for people with medical exemptions.

You are here

Ottawa International Writers Festival Virtual Fall Season - Week 15

Web Banner for Christina Hammonds Reed
21/11/2020

Week 15, November 23 - 28, 2020

Live Author Visits:

Join us as Christina Hammonds Reed discusses her first novel, The Black Kids. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Prolific Norwegian crime novelist Jo Nesbo returns with an evocative psychological thriller filled with fraternal envy in his newest novel The Kingdom. 

 

Podcast(s):

In Moving: A Memoir of Education and Social Mobility, Andy Hargreaves shares candid, poignant and occasionally hilarious personal experiences of social mobility. Hargreaves openly shares how class movement has affected him throughout life, links his narrative to classic and contemporary research and realities, and calls on society to reverse the increasing levels of social immobility and inequity worldwide.

Tim Wynne-Jones discusses his latest collection of stories, War at the Snow White Motel. Rex and his family are vacationing in Vermont. A thoughtless act launches him into war with an older teenager at their motel, but a much bigger conflict — the Vietnam War — looms large on the horizon.

This episode examines the role of student activism in the face of the climate crisis with student activist Alexis Benns, and look at how we can reimagine schools that honour the histories of Indigenous, Black and Racialized populations with educator and scholar  Dr Vidya Shah.

 

 

 

Ottawa International Writers Festival Virtual Fall Season - Week 15by OttawaNewcomerServices

Titles featured during Week 15 of the Ottawa International Writers Festival Virtual Fall Season, November 23 - 28, 2020. Please see https://writersfestival.org/events for more details.