UPDATE: Additional Services at OPL Branches – Starting Mar. 8

02/03/2021

Starting Monday, March 8:

  • 28 of our 31 open branches will offer returns and holds pick up inside the branches, as well as browsing, and use of public computers.
  • Rosemount, Orléans, and Metcalfe branches will offer contactless returns and holds pick up inside the branches.
  • The Bookmobile will offer browsing of a small collection at all stops.
  • Hours of operation will remain the same.
  • Mask wearing inside the branches, and outside in line, remain mandatory.

For more details, go to the OPL blog.

You are here

Ottawa International Writer's Festival Virtual Fall Season - Week 3

Lev Grossman Web Banner
28/08/2020

Week 3, August 31 – September 6, 2020

Author Visit: Join us on Monday, August 31 at 7:30 PM for a live chat with Lev Grossman, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians, on the occasion of his newest creation, The Silver Arrow, a middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl’s delightful books.

Podcast(s): September 4 at 12 PM - Living History with Aislinn Hunter, Gil Adamson and Maggie O’Farrell. We sometimes think of history as something distant, but the more we explore the past, the more we see the present reflected, the lessons learned and the lessons we are still trying to get right. This podcast episode features Aislinn Hunter in conversation with Sean Wilson, Gil Adamson in conversation with Susan Birkwood, and Maggie O’Farrell in conversation with Peter Schneider.

Pre-recorded Event(s):

We welcome iconic global bestseller Ian Rankin back to our (virtual) stage for a chat with CBC’s Alan Neal on the latest must-read Rebus thriller, A Song for the Dark Times.

 

CBC’s Lucy van Oldenbarneveld sits down with Emily St. John Mandel, the award-winning author of Station Eleven, to talk about her latest New York Times bestseller, The Glass Hotel.

 

MacLean’s Magazine’s Paul Wells sits down with Anne Applebaum, the Pulitzer Prize-winning historian to discuss her new book, Twilight of Democracy, which examines why elites in democracies around the world are turning toward nationalism and authoritarianism.

Ottawa International Writer's Festival Virtual Season - Week 3by OttawaNewcomerServices

Titles featured during Week 3 of the Ottawa International Writer's Festival Virtual Fall Season, August 31 – September 6, 2020. Please see https://writersfestival.org/events for more details.