You are here

Teen Reads Week 1: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

08/07/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Book Review by Maggie, Teen Volunteer at Main branch

What Comes After by Steve Watkins

 

What Comes After is a powerfully moving book about loss, abuse and explores the connection between humans and animals. The author Steve Watkins writes in a style where the reader can feel the main character (Iris) emotional evolution. Even if the reader is not able to directly relate to Iris’ experiences, everyone can empathize with her feelings of loneliness and isolation. Through the readers’ sympathy, the author shines light on the reality of living in an abusive household, as well as how differences in the character can cause violent conflicts. However, on a positive note, the author also shows the strong bond between humans and nature, which is an undiscussed topic that deserves more attention.

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the Coming of Age theme?

 

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Sunday, July 14th.

 

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

 

The winner will be contacted on Monday, July 15th.

Good luck!

 

Take a peek at the upcoming Teen Reads themes and get inspired about what books you will want to recommend.

Comments

The Perks of Being a Wallflower- it's about a boy named Charlie who is experiencing high school for the first time. It's in the format of letters addressed to an unknown friend, which makes the book very personal. This book depicts teenage life very accurately, and it highlights how Charlies grows up very well.

Le journal d’Aurélie Laflamme est une histoire remplie d’humour qui suit la vie d’Aurélie. Elle tombe en amour pour la première fois, elle passe tout son temps avec son amie et elle veut par dessus tout un chat! C’est une très belle série avec 9 tomes. Je le recommande fortement.

good book

I read this book as part of a school assignment and it really depicts a great coming of age story. A boy named Arnold is conflicted throughout the story with his indigenous identity as well as white identity. He overcomes many struggles with the help of many friends and family.

This book is set in the 1940s and is about Grant, a young Afro-American teacher who feels imprisoned, on one hand because of the segregation he and his community has to face and on the other, of what his entourage expects from him. Ignoring what is it to "be a man", he is asked to teach Jefferson, sentenced to death, to die like a man. Throughout the novel, Grant evolves and learns to face responsabilities.

I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson takes on the typical coming-of-age narrative with a poetic and insightful touch. Rather than one story that builds up to crossing the threshold into adulthood, it divides the narrative between siblings Noah and Jude - with Noah narrating the before and Jude telling the after. Both are coming of age in different ways, and only by putting their stories together do we get the complete picture - a picture that is simultaneously laugh-out-loud funny, profoundly heartbreaking, and vividly beautiful.

A Trick Of The Light by Lois Metzger it's about a boy name mike and he's in his sophomore year in high school. Mike's world begins to spin out of control.However, the voices inside his head tell him exactly how to master the chaos. The voices inside his head tells him "how to become a better person" but really the voices are just making a distance between his friends and family. It's a really good book I recommend it.

One for the Murphy's is one of my favourite books. It is about a girl who learns that in order to be able to love, she needs to allow herself to be loved.

One for the Murphy's is one of my favourite books. It is about a girl who learns that in order to be able to love, she needs to allow herself to be loved.

I recently read Angie Thomas' The Hate U Give and I highly recommend it. This coming of age novel is told from Starr's perspective, a black teenage girl who lives in a poor neighborhood. It follows her through a difficult year in her life in which she witnesses her childhood friend's death. Throughout the novel, Starr learns to be her true self while embracing adversity. Furthermore, she finds her voice and fights for what she truly believes in. This book is honest, captivating and insightful as it tackles mature topics such as gang violence, racism, and identity. The Hate U Give is a powerful novel that delivers an important message in today's society and I consider it to be a must-read for teenagers today.

Sold by Patricia McCormick is another book that explores child abuse and coming of age. The writing convincingly portrays Lakshmi's pain due to her dire situation. It is captivating and emotional, and sheds light on an often overlooked problem still facing women and girls today.

"To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee, is a powerful book on justice and racism.
In this story, a young girl named Scout Finch whose father is a lawyer defending a black man accused of raping a white woman. She lives in a small Southern town that is shaken by the trial, because the man could not have possibly committed the crime.
"To Kill a Mockingbird" is a classic well written novel, that everyone should read. We are taught to think before judging people, and are able to experience powerful life lessons through the eyes of the author.

"An Abundance of Katherines" by John Green is a beautifully written book-coming of age book, which covers heartbreak, trust and love. From the protagonists brilliant mind and his witty comments, and the bittersweet journey we see him go through, it truly is a triumph of the human spirit to be able to relate and understand to written words, and this book truly surpasses the standard. With its sharp wit and bleak perspective on life, you'll be laughing and crying.
"An Abundance of Katherines" is funny, refreshing and teaches us the value of friendship and love. - Angelea. T

"An Abundance of Katherines" by John Green is a beautifully written book-coming of age book, which covers heartbreak, trust and love. From the protagonists brilliant mind and his witty comments, and the bittersweet journey we see him go through, it truly is a triumph of the human spirit to be able to relate and understand to written words, and this book truly surpasses the standard. With its sharp wit and bleak perspective on life, you'll be laughing and crying.
"An Abundance of Katherines" is funny, refreshing and teaches us the value of friendship and love. - Angelea. T

Written by Lois Lowry, the book is about the coming-of-age of a boy named Jonas, to whom is given the memories and experiences of the past. He lives in a utopian society where everyone must obey to the rites and rules that the elders have set. At age 12, children are assigned jobs in a ceremony and become adults. Throughout the novel, Jonas is taught that true maturity and wisdom comes through selfless love.