You are here

Teen Reads Week 2: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

12/07/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Optimists Die First  by Susin Nielsen

 

After the death of her little sister, Petula, due to her guilt, develops a fear of germs. She now participates in an after-school group in an effort to get her through this tragedy. I love this book! It’s very realistic, sad, and touching. It kept my attention and made me think. Petula’s life made me see people like her from a new perspective. I was so disappointed to finish this book.

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the Humour theme?

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Sunday, July 21st.

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

The winner will be contacted on Monday, July 22nd.

Good luck!

Take a peek at the upcoming Teen Reads themes and get inspired about what books you will want to recommend.

 

PLEASE NOTE: 
If you see an error when submitting your comment saying that the form has become outdated, please click on the "reload this page" link to refresh the form, and please try submitting the comment again. Sorry for the inconvenience.

 

 

 

 

Comments

In Libba Bray's Beauty Queens, humour is used to convey the ridiculousness of shallow, appearance-oriented consumer culture. The book follows the adventures of fifty teen beauty queens who end up stranded on a deserted island. Bray flavours the story with a splash of feminism, a dusting of social critique, and a boat-load of funnies. Though the novel may seem superficial at first glance, just like the eponymous beauty queens, it still packs one heck of a punch.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows and Brodi Ashton, is an imaginative account of the life of Lady Jane Grey, who was queen of England for 9 days in the 16th century, before being beheaded. It is set in an alternate reality with magic and Edians - humans who can turn into animals (sometimes when they want and other times not). The narrators are humorous, inserting their own quips and comments to the story. Even the cover and the synopsis are humorous, giving a good preview of the tone of the book. A very fun read for those who know the story of Lady Jane Grey as well as those who don't. I enjoyed it so much I read it twice.

Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey is a hilarious account of a girl trying to navigate her social after a traumatic event that has left her unable to leave her house. It's a fun story interspersed with her surreal family members, her visits to see her therapist, chaotic vlogs, and romance. It's a pretty quick read and I laughed really, really, hard. I don't think I've laughed that hard in a while.

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

A boy. A girl with cancer. Seems like your typical tragic love story, except it isn't. This exceptional book by John Green exceeds all standards and breaks the norm for romance books. Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a story about a boy whose 7th grade girlfriend gets diagnosed with leukemia. Now a senior in high school, our protagonist is forced to visit his ex. With it's touching ending and out of this world humour, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl is a book for the ages. You'll be laughing and crying throughout it all. -Angelea T

Cool book. I liked it

Cool book. I liked it

Cool book. I liked it

great.
touching cos I was a germaphobe (for different reasons)