You are here

Teen Reads Week 3: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

22/07/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Review by Elina from Ruth E. Dickinson branch

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

The vivid, magical and imaginative world of Caraval is sure to capture your heart! I was not able to put this book down as I followed the protagonist through the trials of Caraval. The suspense, the mystery of this world completely drew me in! I couldn't help but question everything and everyone. If you like a fantastical world that will play with your emotions, this is a must-read!

 

 

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the Fantasy theme?

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Sunday, July 28th.

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

The winner will be contacted on Monday, July 29th.

Good luck!

Take a peek at the upcoming Teen Reads themes and get inspired about what books you will want to recommend.

PLEASE NOTE: 
If you see an error when submitting your comment saying that the form has become outdated, please click on the "reload this page" link to refresh the form, and please try submitting the comment again. Sorry for the inconvenience.

 


 

Comments

The rest of us just live here is a fantasy book for people who don't like fantasy- and yet also people who do like fantasy. It tells the story of a town in which there are two groups- the "indie kids" (vampires, Gods, chosen ones, that sort of thing) and the "rest of us" (all the normal kids, that are just trying to get through high school). This book combines elements of fantasy and realism to create a novel that appeals to everyone- from hardcore fantasy geeks, to people who normally read realism of the likes of John Green.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Harry Potter is a good fantasy novel. There is mystery, suspense, and some difficult times.

'Salem's Lot is the second novel by prolific author Stephen King and is one of his most fantastical works. It is set in Jerusalem's Lot, a small town in Maine plagued by vampires and follows a set of well-developed characters as they struggle to fight the seemingly unkillable monsters. 'Salem's Lot starts off slow, but once it gets going, you'll find it impossible to put it down (personally, I finished the bulk of this book in one afternoon). While leaning heavily into the horror genre and its tropes, the book still maintains a fantastical and preternatural feel throughout (think Supernatural's first few seasons), and is a superb introduction for anyone looking to get into King's work.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is everything you could ever want from a fantasy book and more. Set in a fictional, fantastical world, the story follows six mismatched outcasts as they attempt to pull off an impossible heist. Bardugo combines intriguing world-building, lovably troubled characters, magic and crime into an irresistible tale.

The Mark of Athena is the third book in the Heroes of Olympus series. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy or who would want to give the genre a try. This book is an amazing mix of Greek and Roman mythology, and I learned quite a bit of knowledge about mythology and found it very interesting to read! It's about seven demigods who are part of the "Prophesy of Seven" that try to stop Gaea (the enemy) from awakening. It follows their adventure in different characters' perspectives.

A wrinkle in time is about Meg and Charles, two siblings, who are transported on an adventure through time and space, in the fifth dimension thanks to a tesseract, to find their father. The scientist has been reported missing for a year, captured by evil forces on another planet.

It is a fantasy novel where Clary Fray, a teenage girl, goes to the Pandemonium Club in New York City and witnesses a murder committed by three strange teenagers, members of the Shadowhunters, dedicated to ridding the earth of demons.
Her mother then disappears and she is attacked by a demon herself...

So You Want to Be a Wizard is about a girl called Nina who hides in a library and finds a book called So You Want to Be a Wizard. At first she thinks it's a joke but then she starts learning magic and she meets a boy called Kit who is also learning how to be a wizard. Nina and Kit go on adventures and get in trouble a lot and eventually save the world.

It's about a boy that finds a dragon egg in the woods. He then raises his dragon and they train to fight the evil king. Along the way, they meet other creatures and he learns to control his powers that he acquired when be bonded with the dragon.