You are here

Teen Reads Week 4: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

26/07/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Review by Kuhu from Ruth E. Dickinson branch

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Samantha McAllister has a secret: Purely obsessional OCD. When her new friend introduces her to a secret poetry group at school, she finds that she feels at home in the tight-knit group and feels more normal than she's felt in ages... that is, until she begins questioning reality as a whole. This extremely well-written book gives us insight on what OCD can feel like, as well as creating vivid characters that learn things as we do. You'll never see it coming!

 

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the Identity theme?

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Sunday, August 4th.

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

The winner will be contacted on Tuesday, August 6th.

Good luck!

Take a peek at the upcoming Teen Reads themes and get inspired about what books you will want to recommend.

PLEASE NOTE: 
If you see an error when submitting your comment saying that the form has become outdated, please click on the "reload this page" link to refresh the form, and please try submitting the comment again. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Comments

It's about a genderfluid person named Riley that struggles to deal with their identity. They start a blog online where they discuss their emotions and thoughts. At some point, someone threatens to leak their identity and they have to decide what's the most important for them. The librarian at my old high school suggested it to me and it was an inspiring book but, it is a little slow.

The book Heroine by Mindy McGinnis. The main character is a baseball player; one of the best out of the whole team. She gets into a car accident with her best friend (the other star baseball player on her team). She becomes addicted to the painkillers that the hospital gave her. This is a great book and I really recommend it. I also recommend Mindy McGinnis' other book This Darkness Mine.

Two-time Governor General's Award nominee Teresa Toten is back with a compulsively readable new book for teens!

When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder, he is drawn to her almost before he can take a breath. He's determined to protect and defend her--to play Batman to her Robyn--whatever the cost. But when you're fourteen and the everyday problems of dealing with divorced parents and step-siblings are supplemented by the challenges of OCD, it's hard to imagine yourself falling in love. How can you have a "normal" relationship when your life is so fraught with problems? And that's not even to mention the small matter of those threatening letters Adam's mother has started to receive . . .

Teresa Toten sets some tough and topical issues against the backdrop of a traditional whodunit in this engaging new novel that readers will find hard to put down.

This book tells the story of students at Trinity High School, where The Vigils, the school gang, make assignments that other students have to complete. The assignments are different for each person and are usually meant to create psychological injuries. Jerry Renault's assignment is to not participate at the annual school chocolate sale for 10 days. Inspired by a poster saying: "Do I dare disturb the universe?" , he continues to refuse selling chocolates after the time frame, and thus, is rebelling against The Vigils. Is it through this journey that Jerry discovers his identity and whether he can make a change of the situation.

Winnie Foster is a little girl from a rich family, who, lost in the woods, meets Jesse Tuck, who's family take her in with hospitality. The Tuck family is immortal, having gained that ability from drinking from a mysterious spring. They live a very quiet life and try to hide their secret, because for them, immortality isn't a blessing. However, Winnie is amazed by their immortality and requested some of that water. She now has to make a decision: to drink the water they gave her, or not.