You are here

Teen Reads Week 6: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

12/08/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Review by Sophia from Carlingwood branch

Chicken Girl by Heather Smith

After reading this book I would definitely recommend it to anybody looking for a summer

read they will be addicted to until the last page! Heather Smith uses amazing, well-developed

groups of characters in many of her books including Chicken Girl and The Agony of Bunn

OKeefe. In both books even though the characters are very different they work together very

well to communicate the themes of the novel and show that being yourself and being unique are

important in life. Having so many characters in the novel that are dynamic and distinctive

ensures that all readers have someone they can relate to in the novel. Heather Smith isnt afraid

to make her characters flawed. Which makes the book more interesting, feel more realistic, and

makes the story easier to relate to. The story this novel tells is an important one for today's

youth. It's main themes cover prejudice, internet safety, and mental health issues which are

some of the main issues in society today. Different characters in the book face prejudice for

being who they are; gay, overweight, or homeless. Characters face mental health issues like

depression, PTSD, and addiction. And the main conflict in the novel is caused by the main

characters online safety being violated. These issues are issues that teens face everyday and

this novel helps to bring that reality to light.

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the Real Life theme?

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Sunday, August 18th.

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

The winner will be contacted on Monday, August 19th.

Good luck!

Take a peek at the upcoming Teen Reads themes and get inspired about what books you will want to recommend.

PLEASE NOTE: 
If you see an error when submitting your comment saying that the form has become outdated, please click on the "reload this page" link to refresh the form, and please try submitting the comment again. Sorry for the inconvenience.

 

Comments

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about real life situations. It talks about bullying, friendship, self acceptance and many more. I liked reading this book a lot and there’s a movie for this book as well. Synopsis: August Pullman is a fifth grader who has a medical condition in which his face is disfigured. He used to be homeschooled but his parents decided that he should start going to school to get more experience. At school, he faces bullying, making new friends, and betrayal.

Je proposerait ce livre car c’est une belle histoire d’amour, basée sur la royauté, mais version future. Ce livre aborde plusieurs sujets touchants les jeunes ados comme l’amour. J’ai adoré lire l’an série et j’ai été captivée du début à la fin.

It's a non-fiction story that could be for a mature teen or adult. It follows the life of Zoe who lives in an abusive home, she then gets moved to a community home where she gets trafficked. She eventually discovers that she can get away from the people that traffic her and when she comes of age, she tries to piece together her life. It's a dark recount of her past but really eye opening and inspiring. The fact that after everything she is able to continue with her life and push forward is amazing. Would definitely recommend it.

Écrit par Delphine de Vigan, ce roman nous présente Lou Bertignac, une adolescente qui aime les expériences excentriques. À l'école, elle choisit au hazard faire un exposé sur les sans abris. Un jour elle rencontre No, une sans-abris de 18 ans, qu'elle interview pour son exposé. Elle l'invite d'ailleurs à habiter chez-elle. Entre elles naît une amitié, mais pas sans problèmes et conséquences...

Scars by Rainfield, C. A., is about a fifteen year old girl named Kendra who is now remembering memories of her childhood abuser. This book covers abuse, self harm and has a bit of violence including cutting herself and shooting. I think this book fits the Real life theme because, unfortunately, this could be reality for someone. I personally thought this was a great short read.

Scars by Rainfield, C. A., is about a fifteen year old girl named Kendra who is now remembering memories of her childhood abuser. This book covers abuse, self harm and has a bit of violence including cutting herself and shooting. I think this book fits the Real life theme because, unfortunately, this could be reality for someone. I personally thought this was a great short read.

Scars by Rainfield, C. A., is about a fifteen year old girl named Kendra who is now remembering memories of her childhood abuser. This book covers abuse, self harm and has a bit of violence including cutting herself and shooting. I think this book fits the Real life theme because, unfortunately, this could be reality for someone. I personally thought this was a great short read.

Scars by Rainfield, C. A., is about a fifteen year old girl named Kendra who is now remembering memories of her childhood abuser. This book covers abuse, self harm and has a bit of violence including cutting herself and shooting. I think this book fits the Real life theme because, unfortunately, this could be reality for someone. I personally thought this was a great short read.

Scars by Rainfield, C. A., is about a fifteen year old girl named Kendra who is now remembering memories of her childhood abuser. This book covers abuse, self harm and has a bit of violence including cutting herself and shooting. I think this book fits the Real life theme because, unfortunately, this could be reality for someone. I personally thought this was a great short read.

Scars by Rainfield, C. A., is about a fifteen year old girl named Kendra who is now remembering memories of her childhood abuser. This book covers abuse, self harm and has a bit of violence including cutting herself and shooting. I think this book fits the Real life theme because, unfortunately, this could be reality for someone. I personally thought this was a great short read.

Twerp is about Julian Twerski, a 12-year-old boy growing up in the 60's. Julian's English teacher tells him to write a journal about something he and his friends did that got them all suspended for a week. If he does, he gets out of a different assignment, which he's dreading. Julian talks about everything from hilarious mishaps to friendship troubles, except for the reason he has to write the journal in the first place (until the very end).

L'étranger by Albert Camus
“My mother died today. Or maybe yesterday, I don't know."
Meursault is an indifferent and self-centered French-Algerian. He attends his mother's funeral, where he doesn't seem to be concerned by her death. A few days later, he kills an Arab man who was involved in a conflict with his friend, and thus, is sent to trial. The story is written in a very neutral tone to and the book is a classic of the absurdism movement.

A great read for everyone. Educates people on issues seen in the media a lot. Gives on a perspective not commonly seen. Deals with race and identity, which a lot of people struggle with and can relate to the main character.!

A great read for everyone. Educates people on issues seen in the media a lot. Gives on a perspective not commonly seen. Deals with race and identity, which a lot of people struggle with and can relate to the main character.!