You are here

Teen Reads Week 7: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

19/08/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Review by Sarah from Main branch

Nine by Zach Hines

Dark, disturbing, and gripping, Nine is the perfect story for readers who like to think hard. The book begins with a unique, compelling scene: a party full of death, and followed by rebirth. In an overpopulated society structured for the advancement of humans' nine lives each, the main character, Julien, is determined to remain on his first. However, drawn by the lure of knowledge about his mother's mysterious death, he finds himself burning lives away against his intuition. Only then do new, conspiratorial truths come to light- ones that could change the world as they know it.

The book is riveting from the get-go, and I found Julien to be immediately likeable and interesting character.

 Nine also provides an interesting commentary on society; Everything has changed, but humankind still manipulates, seeks power and control, takes things for granted, and interacts with each other in the same way as always. 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the Nailbiters theme?

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Sunday, August 25th.

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

The winner will be contacted on Monday, August 26th.

Good luck!

Take a peek at the upcoming Teen Reads themes and get inspired about what books you will want to recommend.

Comments

In this political intrigue/murder mystery, a young female thief name Keralie finds herself in possession of some very dangerous information. She teams up with the upright Varin, the victim of her theft, as they rush to stop the unthinkable from happening. Best nailbiter I've read this year, hands down.

As the title suggests, I Hunt Killers is a novel about catching a serial killer. But this isn't your average police procedural. In fact, the protagonist, Jasper "Jazz" Dent, is the teenage son and unwilling apprentice of one of the most notorious serial killers in the world. So when a series of brutal murders takes place in his hometown despite his father being locked away in prison, Jazz joins in the investigation in order to clear his own name. This book is not only genuinely horrifying, but insightful - combining a thrilling, fast-paced story with a deep exploration of identity and free will. Just don't read it in the dark.

Although written in 2003, the story takes place in 1998, in the town of Swindon, England. The narrator, Christopher John Francis Boone, is a teenager affected by autism. One evening, he discovers the dead body of his neighbor’s poodle, Wellington, on the neighbor’s front lawn. Determined to solve this mysterious case, he starts investigating but is taken into custody after hitting a policeman. He is released with one condition: to not investigate the case...

On August 8th in the 1930s, eight guests arrive on a isolated island off the Devon coast of England. They are welcomed by Thomas and Ethel Rogers, the butler and housekeeper, and learn that their hosts, Mr. Ulick Norman Owen and his wife Mrs. Una Nancy Owen, have not arrived. In every guest's room is the rhyme, "Ten Little Niggers" and ten figurines sit on the dining table.

After supper, each visitor is accused by a recording of having committed murder, and then asked if they wish defend themselves. Two of them accept the charges and another commits suicide with cyanide poisoning. The next morning, another guest dies. By lunchtime, there is a third one dead. Mysteriously, three of the eight figurines are found to be broken...

I would recommend this book for anyone who likes mystery and horror genres. Synopsis: One night at a party, Evelyn Hardcastle, the daughter of the house, is shot and dies. This day will repeat over and over again and will never stop until Aiden, a guest of the party, discovers the killer. To make it worse, everyday, he wakes up in a new body/guest every day.