You are here

Teen Reads Week 8: Review, Read-alikes and Prize

26/08/2019

Welcome to Teen Reads!

For eight weeks this summer, every Monday, the Teen blog will feature a book review and reading recommendations within a given theme.
Each review will be a recommended read from an OPL Teen Advisory Group member.
Here is this week’s review and recommendations.

Review by Jane from Beaverbrook branch

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

If you love historical fiction, you’ll love The Book Thief.  Narrated by “Death” itself, Zusak’s powerful book explores the frightening realities of Nazi Germany and the devastating consequences of Nazi Germany on an innocent girl. The story revolves around her struggles surrounding living in a foster home, the nation’s political conflict, and personal growth. This is an absolute must-read if you want a story to cry to, and if you love read GREAT writing.

 

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for the History theme?

In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. All the comments on this blog post (English and French) will be entered in a draw for the weekly $20 Chapters gift card prize. Enter your comment by midnight Monday, September 2nd.

Feel free to recommend more than one book, but only one entry to the draw will be counted per username.

The winner will be contacted on Tuesday, September 3rd.

Good luck!

 

Comments

Je recommande pour le thème histoire, le livre: Quand Hitler s'empara du lapin rose de Judith Kerr.
L'histoire commence en 1933 alors que l'Allemagne de fait de plus en plus oppressive. Dans ses conditions peut favorable, nous allons suivre la vie d'Anna, un petite fille juive de 9 ans. Anna et sa famille son obliger de partir en exile pour ne pas être attraper par le gouvernement et c'est comme cela que commence notre voyage à travers l'Europe en compagnie de Anna. Ce livre est magnifiquement écrit et la description des paysages est sublime. Aussi, le point de vue de Anna nous permet de voir sous un autre angle la montée nazis et c'est conséquences. Grâce a un jeune personnage, le côté angoissant est équilibré par l'espoir d'une vie meilleur.
Je recommande se livre peut importe votre âge car il nous permet de devenir encore plus humain.

I recommend the book Three Cheers For Me by Donald Jack. Set during during World War 1, it is the first book in the Bandy Papers series. It is about Bartholomew Bandy, a medical student who decides to enroll in the Canadian army. Bandy starts out fighting in the trenches, however his captain dislikes him so much that he sends him off to the Air Force where the life expectancy is much shorter. Bandy is terribly accident-prone but somehow he manages to get out of many extraordinary situations and distinguish himself as a pilot, much to the surprise of everyone around him. A very fun historical novel, Bandy's adventures are as entertaining each time I re-read the book.

I would recommend this book because it is great for any history book lovers and it has also been adapted into a film. This book takes place in France during the World War l. It is about a horse, Joey, who is bought to serve in the army. Ted, who is Albert’s father, sold the horse for money. However, Albert, the previous owner of the horse, treasures him a lot and wants to bring him back home safely.

I would recommend this book because it is great for any history book lovers and it has also been adapted into a film. This book takes place in France during the World War l. It is about a horse, Joey, who is bought to serve in the army. Ted, who is Albert’s father, sold the horse for money. However, Albert, the previous owner of the horse, treasures him a lot and wants to bring him back home safely.