You are here

  • WEBSITE MAINTENANCE ALERT:

    Access to the catalogue and customer accounts will be intermittent on Sunday, May 19, starting at 7 pm, until Monday, May 20 at 7 pm.

WINNER – Battle of the Books 2017

21/08/2017

We had quite a summer with the 2017 Battle of the Books, after weeks of competition, including a few nail biters!

With voting closing officially at 12:00 a.m. on August 21st, we are happy to announce that the winner of this year’s Battle of the Books is:

 

 Exit, Pursued by A Bear   by E.K. Johnston

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you really enjoyed reading this book, you may also want to give these readalike books featuring reimagined classics!

 

 As I Descended by Robin Talley

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  The Steep & Thorny Way by Cat Winters

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Srsly Hamlet by Courtney Carbone

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have another readalike suggestion for Exit, Pursued by A Bear? In the comment section below, tell us in a few sentences, which book it is and why you would recommend it. Once you comment on the blog post (English or French) your username will be entered in a draw for the weekly $25 Chapters gift card prize. One entry per username. Enter your comments by midnight Sunday, August 27th. The winner will be contacted on Monday, August 28th. Good luck!

 

Double your chance to win prizes! Tell us your readalike suggestion for the runner up.

 

Thank you to everyone who participated in our Battle of the Books! Our next big event for teens will be Teen Author Fest, which will be taking place on Saturday, October 21st at the Main branch, featuring these authors from Battle of the Books; Erin Bow, Don Calame, Alan Cumyn, Shalta Dicaire & Sarah Sahagian, and many more authors.

Stay tuned for details to come!

 

 

 

Comments

My recommendation for readers who enjoyed "Exit, Pursued by A Bear" is "Speak" by Laurie Halse Anderson. It is told in the form of a diary written by Melinda, the protagonist, over the course of her freshman year of high school. She has virtually stopped speaking to other people and struggles to adjust to the environment. It is only about halfway through the novel that the reader discovers that the reason for this is that [SPOILER ALERT] Melinda was raped at a party at the end of the summer. "Speak" is told in a darker tone and is intended for more mature readers than "Exit"; however both novels follow young women who are able to overcome their assault by relying on others and their own inner strength, which is a valuable message for teenagers.

The Perks Of Being A Wall Flower this is about 15-year-old Charlie, an endearing and naive outsider, coping with first love, the suicide of his best friend, and his own mental illness while struggling to find a group of people with whom he belongs. This book, not unlike Exit Pursued By A Bear, has themes regarding sexual assault. [TRIGGER\SPOILER WARNING] Aunt Helen, a troubled young woman who was abused by many men, loved Charlie but molested him when he was younger. In the book, it is said that he was molested by her every weekend. Like Hermione, Charlie has been through many struggles. But as to whether Charlie gets a happy ending is debatable, unlike Hermione's ending. It's a great book, I loved it. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys darker themes.

I think this book would be good for those who liked Exit, Pursued By A Bear, because it carries the same darker themes and treats them in the same way. Also, the book has diverse characters that everyone is able to relate to. So The Foxhole Court is a series of three books about a runaway boy named Neil Josten who's trying to escape his past. The books are captivating and easy to read. As previously stated One of the many perks, and why I recommend it is that it discusses a lot of topics like: gangs, murder, the mafia, violence, abuse, and rape. Although these can be heavy topics the book presents them in a way that won't scare the audience, but it still informs them of it much like in Exit, Pursued By A Bear. Sadly this book isn't available at the library, but you can download for free on Kobo.