Online resources

Search for specific magazines and newspapers.
Database
Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
Database
Access Video on Demand is a streaming video platform with a focus on educational films. The collection includes 13,000 videos and 207,000 video segments and the topics range from Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Science, Mathematics and Technology, Social...
Database
A self-paced program designed to develop reading skills. The program has six levels from Elementary to Advanced, with 10 units at each level. Each unit focuses on a specific reading skill such as skimming texts, reading critically or vocabulary building,...
Database
A collection of thousands of individual genealogy databases from many different institutions. It includes American, Canadian and U.K. sources as well as some for Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Canadian coverage includes major sources such as the censuses from 1851...
Database
A large assortment of streaming audiobooks that are always available. Includes fiction and nonfiction material for both adults and children.
Database
Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites.
Database
Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports.
Database
Helps learners develop their written business communication skills in the context of emails, SMS, letters and reports. Topics include the writing process, linking ideas and writing clearly.
Database
Full-text content on many subjects from hundreds of Canadian magazines and newspapers, and indexed articles from many more publications. This database is fully searchable. Access to articles is also possible through publication titles and subject topics.
Database
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
Database
This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal...
Database
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Database
CareerAIM captures job opportunities, on a daily basis, from a vast array of resources that include commercial job boards, government, news groups, not-for-profits, recruiters, private corporate web sites and print media.
Database
Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, sur de multiples supports (livres, DVD, disques compacts, logiciels, etc). ChoixMédia se démarque par...
Database
ConsumerReports.org provides unbiased ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice from expert Consumer Reports’ testers for thousands of products and services such as cars, electronics, appliances, and more. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to find the...
Database
Use the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online to review the lives and achievements of individuals who played important roles in the formation of Canada. This major research and publishing project was launched by the University of Toronto and the Université...
Database
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a dictionary, photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history...
Database
Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.
Database
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
Database
Access today's edition of popular magazine titles including Hello! Canada, Maclean's, Scientific American, Time, People and others.
Database
Access hundreds of thousands of songs from the Sony Music catalogue. Cardholders can access unlimited streaming and download up to 5 songs per week. To download or stream songs begin by logging in using your Library card number. Note: Once...
Database
Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institute. Includes baptism and death certificates (1621-1849), the Fond Drouin registries from 1621 to 1967,...
Database
Analyze industry events and trends, company performance and activity, as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Publications include broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings, investment reports, market overviews, country snapshots, and industry...
Database
A complete scanned version of the current issue.
Database
This digitized version of the Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered. Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search.
Database
Up-to-date information on hundreds of Canadian grant-making foundations and corporations, as well as more than 150 American foundations that have a history of philanthropy in Canada. Choose your terms carefully when you set up your search. A range of options...
Database
This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows and complete music albums. There are more than 230,000 titles in this collection, which includes current and past hits, as well as classics. There is a variety...
Database
A database designed to help improve writing, vocabulary, spelling, grammar, reading comprehension and math skills at the elementary (grade 4), secondary, college and university level.  Practice and prepare for exams like the TOEFL, GED, SAT, LSAT, MCAT, GRE and GMAT.  ...
Database
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship.
Database
With over 4,000 video courses from top experts, Lynda.com is the place to go for learning technology, creative and business skills you can use today.
Database
Online courses to improve your French grammar.
Database
Popular and classic French-language eBooks. Compatible with most devices.
Database
Mango Languages offers 40 online language learning courses for English speakers and 15 English courses for non-English speakers. Each course has 100 lessons. In each lesson, the students see text and hear dialog that they are invited to repeat.
Database
Martin's Online Criminal Code is an online legal research tool that provides users with access to the Criminal Code at a particular point in time, along with the corresponding commentary. Users can browse through previous versions of Martin's Annual Criminal...
Database
Browse our catalogue for Music on CD.
Database
Lessons and exercises on Canadian history, geography, government and culture, divided into modules. Students, ESL language learners, new Canadians preparing for their Citizenship exam and people wanting to improve and refine their writing skills will find the core skills lessons...
Database
Offers streaming access to over 1 million tracks ranging from classical and jazz to world music. Can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime with your library card. Also features an app that can be used on iPhones, iPads and...
Database
This includes a mix of jazz legends and contemporary jazz and can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. You can also listen to this resource through the Naxos Music Library app for iPhones, iPads and Android devices. Please note...
Database
Find reviews and recommendations for literary fiction, popular fiction, and non-fiction (such as biography, history, sports, science, true crime, travel, etc.). Included are author read-alikes, book discussion guides, and feature articles. Search or browse titles by subject, setting, series, and...
Database
Information about fiction books to match readers with age-appropriate books for school or pleasure reading. Each title is selected by the team of school media specialists and children’s librarians. The information is divided into sections: kids 0-8, kids 9-12, teens...
Database
A searchable archive of 30 days which is part of the database Library PressDisplay. Articles can be translated into German, Greek, Spanish or French. The viewer can also listen to individual articles in any of these languages. To access articles...
Database
Offers full-text articles (no images) from 1997 to present day.
Database
eBooks and downloadable audiobooks. Compatible with most devices.
Database
Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants. The PRDH’s mandate is to help piece together the population of old...
Database
Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world. Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to articles. Canadian newspaper titles include the Ottawa Citizen, the Globe and Mail, National Post, Le Devoir...
Database
A directory of 1.5 million Canadian company profiles compiled from telephone directories, annual reports, government data, chamber of commerce information, business magazines, newspapers, specialty directories, and postal services information. Enables entrepreneurs, job-hunters, and consumers to find businesses in any industry...
Database
Provides an introduction to Euromonitor International’s global business research. It offers unlimited access to more than 5,000 industry and country reports across 80 countries as well as daily breaking news articles on factors influencing the business landscape.
Database
"A self-study program designed for high school students and 1st year university students to develop such skills including ime management, listening and concentration, reading and studying textbooks, taking notes, making effective presentations and reviewing and preparing for tests. Each module...
Database
Offers teens in-depth and readable articles and self-help tools on health and life topics such as: body basics, developmental disabilities and disorders, diseases and infections, diversity, drugs and alcohol, eating disorders, family life, friendship and dating, green living, mind, mood...
Database
ESL program that helps students improve their reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and grammar skills in five levels.
Database
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
Database
Access TumbleBookCloud . A collection of read-along titles for elementary, middle school, and high school students that feature adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read and the pages turn automatically. The collection...
Database
Access TumbleBookCloud Jr . Tumble Book Cloud Junior includes over 600 titles, including ebooks, read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos from National Geographic, and audiobooks. This collection is designed for readers in grades 3 - 6.
Database
The Value Line Investment Survey and Small & Midcap Survey offers access to over 3,500 stocks across 100 industries. This includes analysts’ reports, statistics and forecasts of stock performance.
Database
Discover new fiction and non-fiction titles. Search by author, title, genre, subject, setting, and more. Award winners and top picks are also included.
Database
Read many popular magazines including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, Reader's Digest and many more. There are no limits on how many magazines you can read.
Database