You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • A self-paced program designed to develop reading skills. The program has six levels from Elementary to Advanced, with 10 units at each level....read more about Active Reading

  • Learn more about food in history and culture while discovering thousands of traditional recipes from 174 countries.

    AtoZ World Food features:

    ...read more about AtoZ World Food
  • Learn how to paint, knit, sew, and much more....read more about Creativebug

  • Use the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online to review the lives and achievements of individuals who played important roles in the formation of Canada.  ...read more about Dictionary of Canadian Biography

  • A database designed to help improve writing, vocabulary, spelling, grammar, reading comprehension and math skills at the elementary (grade 4), secondary, co...read more about Learning Express Library

  • LinkedIn Learning for Library is an upgrade to the previous Lynda Library product, providing continued lifelong learning opportunities for all of you. 

    ...read more about LinkedIn Learning for Library (Formerly Lynda.com)
    • From March 31st, 2022, any customers who have not yet logged into LinkedIn Learning for Library will not have their Lynda history migrated over.  
    • LinkedIn Learning mobile app is now available. Please activate/access LinkedIn Learning via the desktop first, then move to the mobile app for an easier sign in experience on mobile.
    • To sign in, click Sign in with your library card, enter “LibraryID” as “ottawa”, read more usage notes about LinkedIn Learning for Library (Formerly Lynda.com)
  • Mango Languages offers 40 online language learning courses for English speakers and 15 English courses for non-English speakers....read more about Mango Languages

  • Naxos Works Database is your online catalogue of classical music works, with a wealth of detail like duration, instrumentation, publisher and work introduct...read more about Naxos Works Database

    Un seul utilisateur peut se connecter à la fois. Si vous n’arrivez pas à ouvrir une session, veuillez réessayer plus tard.

  • Pronunciator is unique in offering personalized courses in any of 163 languages, and instruction in any of 144 hom...read more about Pronunciator

    Go Mobile The Pronunciator app is written in responsive HTML5, and can be used in any browser — even the browser in your mobile device.

  • The Road to IELTS - Academic module provides an introduction, advice and tutorials, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests....read more about Road to IELTS - Academic Module

  • The Road to IELTS- General Training module provides an introduction, advice and tutorial, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests....read more about Road to IELTS - General Training Module

  • SOLARO is an online study resourc...read more about SOLARO

    • Customers will need to enter a library card the first time to request a SOLARO Account.
    • You can then use this information to log in to the website www.solaro.com or to log in through the SOLARO app on your mobile devices.
  • ESL program that helps students improve their reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and grammar skills in five levels.

  • Worxica, a curated job vacancy archive, is Canada's first free big data job market research tool. It's built specifically for job seekers and recruiters....read more about Worxica