Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, sur de multiples supports (livres, DVD, disques compacts, logiciels, etc). ChoixMédia se démarque par l’analyse qualitative qu’il fait de chaque ouvrage : un résumé en détaille le contenu et un indice d’évaluation établit son public cible et sa valeur ou utilité.
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history and government, science and mathematics, arts, world religions, and sports and hobbies.
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television. About 20 small Ontario dailies are also included among other French and English language newspapers from across Canada.
Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institute. Includes baptism and death certificates (1621-1849), the Fond Drouin registries from 1621 to 1967, and marriage and death certificates (1926-1997). Many digital documents are also available, such as notarized contracts, post cards, censuses, etc.
This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows and complete music albums. There are more than 320,000 titles in this collection, which includes current and past hits, as well as classics. There is a variety of genres to choose from, with something for all ages.
The collection is not permanent – titles get pulled and new content is added all the time.
Customers can stream or temporarily download up to 6 titles per month. The download feature is available exclusively on mobile devices, through the app.
The borrowing period for movie and TV content is between 48-72 hours (2-3 days) and music albums (considered as one item) are borrowed for 7 days.
Titles are available instantly with no holds, waitlists, or late fees.
Borrowed titles are automatically returned following the borrowing period.
Hoopla is accessible from your computer, laptop or wireless device.
Customers must register for an account with an email address and a valid OPL card number, in order to access the service.
The data used to stream Hoopla from the Internet at home or from your mobile device will count towards your Internet service provider’s monthly bandwidth cap. Watching a regular-length movie uses about 1GB of data for each stream of standard definition video. Streaming an album uses about 35 MB of data.
OPL has extended your Hoopla play credit from 4 to 6 per month. It is a special gift for you to celebrate October Library month. Let's be connected, inspired and entertained together every day!
You can stream or temporarily download up to 6 titles per month per card from now on.
Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants.
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
TumbleBookCloud Jr is no longer active. Any k-6 titles from this resource are available on TumbleBook Library. There were some titles in TumbleBookCloud Jr. (TBC JR) that were created to the upper middle schoolers, those are available on TeenBookCloud.
With more than 30,000 articles and 17,000 interactive medias, Universalis covers all domains of knowledge and is the most important general encyclopedia in French. There is also an integrated dictionary with 120,000 definitions. Also offered are weekly exclusive articles, monthly updates, and an atlas with more than 400 maps. Content is enriched with hundreds of animations, videos, musical extracts, and interviews.