This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist. The Globe and Mail backfile coverage starts in 1977.
Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
Filter Your Search
Choosing a filter below will cause the page to reload.
-
Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest (Formerly Canadian Newsstand)
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
- Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
- Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
- Browse specific issues
Usage Info
-
ConsumerReports.org
ConsumerReports.org provides unbiased ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice from expert Consumer Reports’ testers for thousands of products and services such as cars, electronics, appliances, and more. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to find the latest consumer news — such as product recalls.
Articles from the CR current issue, archives from 2012 to 2022, and a five-year Index are all available.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Cantook: French-language eBooks and Audiobooks
Popular and classic French-language eBooks and Canadian audiobooks.
Help Guide(s):
-
Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Canada's Information Resource Centre
Canada’s Information Resource Centre now provides online access to four titles that we currently have in our collection:
- Canadian Almanac and Directory
The Almanac section has its own pages and is searchable along with the directory.
- Associations Canada
Introductory material is only available in PDF, the other content is searchable from the search fields.
- Canadian Parliamentary Guide
Introductory material is only available in PDF, the other content can be searched by various fields.
- Canadian Who’s Who
It has its own search screen. Please just click on the title and it will take you to the search screen.
Since all those four printed titles are for in-library use only, this online remote access will provide a convenient option to access a diverse array of virtual who’s who and what’s where in Canada
This online access is for a single-user license. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later
-
Eureka.cc
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television. About 20 small Ontario dailies are also included among other French and English language newspapers from across Canada.
Usage Info
-
Express eBooks and Audiobooks: CloudLibrary
A collection of popular English fiction and nonfiction eBooks and audiobooks with a seven day loan period. Requests are not permitted.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Flipster eMagazines
Access today's edition of popular magazine titles including Maclean's, Scientific American, Time, People, and others.
- If you are experiencing difficulty accessing magazines, please check "Tips on how to access magazines from Flipster" under our Help Guide
- Starting from May 18, 2023, Forbes is available on the Flipster eMagazine Platform
- Starting from Oct.1, 2022, seven new eMagazines will be added to the Flipster platform. They are Backcountry; Sports Illustrated, Travel & Leisure; Fine Woodworking; Fine Gardening, Threads & Fine Homebuilding.
- Effective on Nov.1, 2022, the following three magazines : Azure ; Canadian House and Home, and Hello! Canada will be available on Overdrive Magazines Platform and no longer available on Flipster eMagazine Platform
- Martha Stewart Living, Do It Yourself, and Rachael Ray in Seasons are discontinued on Flipster by the publisher. However, some back issues are still available for you to view.
- Effective on Nov.1, 2023, Black Girl Magazine and Teen Black Girl Magazine are no longer available on Flipster eMagazine Platform. However, some back issues are still available for you to view.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Gale Ebooks
This collection of reference eBooks -- the kind of reliable, in-depth material once in a printed reference collection -- gives full-text access to thousands of articles on a wide variety of topics. Users can search topics within a single reference book or within the entire collection of books. Some sample titles are: Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Business Plans Handbooks (44 volumes of full-text business plans), World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems, Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, Encyclopaedia Judaica, and Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior.
Access from home will prompt you to re-enter your library card number.
Usage Info
-
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1844-2019)
This digitized version of The Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered. Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search.
Usage Info