You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Your Search Results

  • Want to know which database includes your favourite magazines and newspapers? Our A-Z list-Full Text Finder makes it easy to search for specific magazines and newspapers. 

  • A collection of thousands of individual genealogy databases from many different institutions. It includes American, Canadian and U.K. sources as well as some for Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Canadian coverage includes major sources such as the censuses from 1851 to 1916, Ontario civil registration of births, marriages and deaths, and the Quebec Drouin Collection (courthouse copies of parish registers). German records include passenger lists for many people leaving Eastern Europe. New databases are constantly being added.  Many of the sources are digitized.  Bring a USB flash drive to download your records.

    Important Notice: You can access Ancestry Library Edition in our library branches through desktop computers provided by our library or your own personal laptop, tablet, or mobile phone. (Remote access is not supported.) 

  • Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites.

  • Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports.

  • This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos.  Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, Feature articles on different subjects, MacLean’s Magazine articles and The Timeline of Canadian History.

  • This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features.  Content is updated daily.  Among the titles are The Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist.  The Globe and Mail backfile coverage starts in 1977.

    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.

    ...read more usage notes about Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest (Formerly Canadian Newsstand)
  • Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more.  It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.  

  • This bilingual online resource offers historical content about Canada from the first European settlers to the early 20th century. This includes digitized books, magazines and government documents and spans 21 languages.

  • Popular and classic French-language eBooks and Canadian audiobooks. Compatible with most devices. The app Aldiko Next requires iOS 14 or higher.

  • Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, sur de multiples supports (livres, DVD, disques compacts, logiciels, etc). ChoixMédia se démarque par l’analyse qualitative qu’il fait de chaque ouvrage : un résumé en détaille le contenu et un indice d’évaluation établit son public cible et sa valeur ou utilité.