Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
Filter Your Search
Choosing a filter below will cause the page to reload.
-
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through the centuries to become eyewitnesses to our local history.
Coverage is from 1845 to 2010, but you can access more recent full text content from September 1985 until now from Canadian Major Dailies ProQuest (Formerly Canadian Newsstand).
-
-
A package of over 3,000 popular titles (including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker, and many more) with varieties of languages and up to three years of back issues are now available for unlimited simultaneous access with no circulation caps.
-
Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants.
Usage info
-
Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world. Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to articles. Canadian newspaper titles include the Ottawa Citizen, the Globe and Mail, National Post, Le Devoir, Le Journal de Montréal, and Toronto Star. Internationally you can read USA Today, The Wall Street Journal (USA), The Guardian (United Kingdom), Le Figaro (France), Izvestia (Russia) and Der Tagesspiegel (Germany). Popular magazines include Canadian Geographic, Maximum PC and Canada’s Style at Home.
-
A directory of 2.1 million Canadian company profiles compiled from telephone directories, annual reports, government data, chamber of commerce information, business magazines, newspapers, specialty directories, and postal services information. Enables entrepreneurs, job-hunters, and consumers to find businesses in any industry. Useful for Business Planning and Market Research to identify potential industry competitors and/or potential companies with which to do business. Specify results based on employee size, sales volume, type of business and location and download results to an Excel file.
Usage info
-
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
Usage info
Library Apps
-
A collection of Graphic Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources and audiobooks, perfect for middle school and high school students. It features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read and the pages turn automatically. These read along books are great for reluctant readers and also help ESL students develop language skills.All of our students and customers will have unlimited access to this fantastic collection.
Usage info
-
TumbleMath is a comprehensive collection of online math, story and picture books that includes full narration and animation. Lesson plans and quizzes are available and specifically written to address math standards.
Usage info
-
With more than 30,000 articles and 17,000 interactive medias, Universalis covers all domains of knowledge and is the most important general encyclopedia in French. There is also an integrated dictionary with 120,000 definitions. Also offered are weekly exclusive articles, monthly updates, and an atlas with more than 400 maps. Content is enriched with hundreds of animations, videos, musical extracts, and interviews.
