You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Popular and classic French-language eBooks and Canadian audiobooks. Compatible with most devices. The app Aldiko Next requires iOS 14 or higher.

    ...read more about Cantook Station: French-language eBooks and Audiobooks
  • Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, ...read more about CHOIX Média

  • Avec plus de 30 000 articles et 17 000 médias reliés entre eux, l'Encyclopaedia Universalis en ligne couvre l'ensemble des domaines de la connaissance et pr...read more about Encyclopædia Universalis

  • Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.

  • Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information....read more about Encyclopédie Découverte

  • The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protége...read more about Eureka.cc

  • Access today's edition of popular magazine titles including Hello! Canada, Maclean's, Scientific American, Time, People and others.

    • If you are experiencing difficulty accessing magazines, please check "Tips on how to access magazines from Flipster" under our Help Guide
    • Two new eMagazines had been added to the Flipster platform. They are: Do it yourself & Essence.
  • Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institut...read more about Généalogie Québec

  • A package of over 3,000 popular titles (including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker, and many more) with varieties of lang...read more about Overdrive Magazines (Formerly RBDigital Unlimited Magazines -Zinio)

    For PC & Mac computers Libbyapp.com offers all the same great features as the app except the ability to download loans for offline use. You'll still be able to read and listen to your loans as long as you're connected to the internet., For Android & iOS device, You can access titles offline through the Libby app on an Android or iOS device if you'd like

  • Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621...read more about PRDH (Programme de recherche en démographie historique)

  • Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world.  Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to...read more about PressReader

    • You don’t need to create a separate PressReader account, without a PressReader account, you can still access any of the titles offered by Ottawa Public Library on PressReader.
    • All you need is a library card and a pin to sign in via a login page on the OPL website or PressReader App. That’s it!
    • Customers logged in through App need to re-authenticate after 30 days while Customers logged in through EzProxy (via library website) need to re-authenticate after 2 days
    • ...read more usage notes about PressReader
  • Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and desig...read more about TumbleBook Library

    TumbleBookCloud Jr is no longer active. Any k-6 titles from this resource are available on TumbleBook Library. There were some titles in TumbleBookCloud Jr. (TBC JR) that were created to the upper middle schoolers, those are available on TeenBookCloud.