This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, Feature articles on different subjects, MacLean’s Magazine articles and The Timeline of Canadian History.
This bilingual online resource offers historical content about Canada from the first European settlers to the early 20th century. This includes digitized books, magazines and government documents and spans 21 languages.
Curio.ca offers access to thousands of commercial-free educational video and audio streams from CBC and Radio-Canada. Categories include Canadian history, health, business, children's programming, Indigenous studies and many others.
Important Notice: All back issues are not available, we are working with the vendor to try to resolve this problem as soon as possible! Sorry for the inconvenience.
If you are experiencing difficulty accessing magazines, please check "Tips on how to access magazines from Flipster" under our Help Guide
Starting from Oct.1, 2022, seven new eMagazines will be added to the Flipster platform. They are Backcountry; Sports Illustrated, Travel & Leisure; Fine Woodworking; Fine Gardening, Threads & Fine Homebuilding.
Effective on Nov.1, 2022, the following three magazines : Azure ; Canadian House and Home, and Hello! Canada will be available on Overdrive Magazines Platform and no longer available on Flipster eMagazine Platform
Martha Stewart Living was discontinued on Flipster by the publisher. However, some back issues up to May 2022 are still available for you to view.
This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows, complete music albums, and graphic novels & comics. The collection includes current and past hits, as well as classics. There is a variety of genres to choose from, with something for all ages. Let's be connected, inspired, and entertained together every day!
The collection is not permanent – titles get pulled and new content is added all the time.
Customers can stream or temporarily download up to 6 titles per month. The download feature is available exclusively on mobile devices, through the app.
The borrowing period for movie and TV content is between 48-72 hours (2-3 days), music albums (considered as one item) are 7 days, and comics collection is 21 days.
Titles are available instantly with no holds, waitlists, or late fees.
Borrowed titles are automatically returned following the borrowing period.
Hoopla is accessible from your computer, laptop, or wireless device.
Customers must register for an account with an email address and a valid OPL card number, in order to access the service.
The data used to stream Hoopla from the Internet at home or from your mobile device will count towards your Internet service provider’s monthly bandwidth cap. Watching a regular-length movie uses about 1GB of data for each stream of standard definition video. Streaming an album uses about 35 MB of data.
OPL has extended your Hoopla play credit from 4 to 6 per month.
You can stream or temporarily download up to 6 titles per month per card from now on.
Kanopy offers a large collection of high quality films and documentaries from art-house classics to world cinema, all available to play on your PC, phone, tablet and digital media player. You can stream up to 4 films per month. At the top right-hand side of page, you will see a “play credit tracker” that will alert you of how many play credits you have remaining.
You can watch up to 4 films per month per card.
You can check out 1 series from The Great Courses per month per card with 30 days of access
Unlimited plays for any video in Kanopy Kids and any trailer.
NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,500 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca).
These 6,000 films are 99% Canadian content in English and in French. They provide a focus on Canadian content and ready-made curated channels and playlists on a variety of topics, including children’s movies, Indigenous cinema, Indigenous voices, and reconciliation.
Please be advised that a major maintenance operation requires NFB to go offline temporarily on Wednesday, November 23, from 9 a.m. until approximately 1 p.m. We apologize in advance for the inconvenience.
A package of over 3,000 popular titles (including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker, and many more) with varieties of languages and up to three years of back issues are now available for unlimited simultaneous access with no circulation caps.
OverDrive has decided not to support the newly required lending model changes by The Economist. As a result, all editions of The Economist will be removed from OverDrive Magazine collections effective February 1, 2023. The last issue available for readers to borrow will be January 28, 2023. All back issues will also be removed from collections on February 1. We apologize for the inconvenience and invite you to check out any of the thousands of other magazines in the collection.
Full-text remote access for The Economist is available from the following two databases: