Access Video on Demand is a streaming video platform with a focus on educational films. The collection includes 41,213 videos, 331,668 video segments and 1,094 subject categories. The topics range from Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Science, Mathematics and Technology, Social Sciences, Careers and Trades, Health and Wellness, Home and Family, and Archival films and newsreels. Many popular documentaries originally produced for National Geographic, HBO, PBS, BBC, TED Talks, Nova, Rick Steves’ Europe, Scientific American, and more are included. Closed-captioning and interactive transcripts are available on many titles. Customers need a valid OPL card in order to access the service. Engage, inform, and entertain with its vivid and appealing new design of Access Video On Demand! Includes unlimited, simultaneous usage; in-library use and remote access.
Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
Filter Your Search
Choosing a filter below will cause the page to reload.
-
Access Video on Demand
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Active Reading
A self-paced program designed to develop reading skills. The program has six levels from Elementary to Advanced, with 10 units at each level. Each unit focuses on a specific reading skill such as skimming texts, reading critically or vocabulary building, which are organized around one or more texts such as articles, advertisements, emails, poems, etc. The program also works on other skills such as listening practice, essay writing and discussion activities. Exercises are marked and scored and readers can track their progress.
Usage Info
-
Ancestry Library
A collection of thousands of individual genealogy databases from many different institutions. It includes American, Canadian and U.K. sources as well as some for Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Canadian coverage includes major sources such as the censuses from 1851 to 1916, Ontario civil registration of births, marriages and deaths, and the Quebec Drouin Collection (courthouse copies of parish registers). German records include passenger lists for many people leaving Eastern Europe. New databases are constantly being added. Many of the sources are digitized. Bring a USB flash drive to download your records.
Important Notice: You can access Ancestry Library Edition in our library branches through desktop computers provided by our library or your own personal laptop, tablet, or mobile phone. (Remote access is not supported.)
Ancestry LibraryAvailable for in-library use onlyUsage Info
-
AtoZ World Food
Learn more about food in history and culture while discovering thousands of traditional recipes from 174 countries.
AtoZ World Food features:
- 6,500 + Recipes
- 750 + World Beer Reviews
- 13,000 + High Quality photos
- 500 + Ingredient Articles
- 850 + Future Culture Articles
- 6 Food Glossaries
- Personal Recipe Book
Usage Info
-
Audiobook Cloud
A large assortment of streaming audiobooks that are always available. Includes fiction and nonfiction material for both adults and children.
Usage Info
-
Britannica Library
Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites.
Usage Info
-
Britannica Library for Kids
Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports.
-
Canada's Information Resource Centre
Canada’s Information Resource Centre now provides online access to four titles that we currently have in our collection:
- Canadian Almanac and Directory
The Almanac section has its own pages and is searchable along with the directory.
- Associations Canada
Introductory material is only available in PDF, the other content is searchable from the search fields.
- Canadian Parliamentary Guide
Introductory material is only available in PDF, the other content can be searched by various fields.
- Canadian Who’s Who
It has its own search screen. Please just click on the title and it will take you to the search screen.
Since all those four printed titles are for in-library use only, this online remote access will provide a convenient option to access a diverse array of virtual who’s who and what’s where in Canada
This online access is for a single-user license. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later
-
Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest (Formerly Canadian Newsstand)
This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist. The Globe and Mail backfile coverage starts in 1977.
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
- Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
- Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
- Type Globe and Mail in the search box
- Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
- Browse specific issues
Usage Info
-
Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):