Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
Filter Your Search
Choosing a filter below will cause the page to reload.
-
Grant Connect is a fundraising platform that connects charities with funders who share their cause. Find new prospects by searching comprehensive data managed by the expert research team.With Grant Connect, you have access to:
- Over 11,000 Canadian foundations, 560 corporate giving programs, 370 government grant programs, 120 American foundations, and 200 other kinds of grant opportunities.
- Funder profiles that offer insights on specific grant programs, application preferences, financial summaries, and key decision-makers, and more.
- Data on billions of dollars in past donations, categorized by size, cause, population, and region.
- Targeted search filters that help you quickly find the right funder for your charity by gift size, deadline, type of support, and more.”
Grant ConnectAvailable for in-library use onlyUsage info
-
The Hilltimes.com – Canada’s political and government news service
Customers can access PDF versions of Ottawa's own twice-weekly newspaper, as well as previous, achieved issues back to 2004, or download and print a copy. They can also search articles dating back to 1989, and access PDF versions of the Embassy Archives from 2004 to 2016. The Hill Times absorbed Embassy magazine and doubled its print edition to be twice-a-week starting from April 2016.
In addition to the digital edition of the Hill Times, there will be full access to HillTimes.com for daily updated breaking exclusive stories and in-depth articles about the people, the policies, and the politics that make the news. Enjoy a diversity of opinions and points of view, from various political angles.
Both In-library and unlimited simultaneous remote access from home are available.
The Hill Times is independently owned and based in Ottawa. Their website states that they are independent and non-partisan. Articles are written by well-respected journalists.
-
Over 8,092 fun and informative video and audio titles featuring Berenstain Bears, Franklin the Turtle, Wild Kratts and many more. Subject areas include arts, music, animals, sports, hobbies, math, science and reading. More than 430 educational interactives are also available.
Usage info
-
A database designed to help improve writing, vocabulary, spelling, grammar, reading comprehension, and math skills at the elementary (grade 4), secondary, college and university level. Practice and prepare for exams like the TOEFL, GED, SAT, LSAT, MCAT, GRE, and GMAT.Contains tools and resources for career development; including job search and networking, resume writing, cover letters, and interview techniques and tips. Over 150 e-books to assist in the learning experience.
Usage info
-
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship.
Usage info
-
LinkedIn Learning for Library is an upgrade to the previous Lynda Library product, providing continued lifelong learning opportunities for all of our Clients.
Over 16,000 video tutorial courses led by experts in Business, Creative, and Technology. Some tutorials are available in English, French, German, Japanese, Mandarin, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Customers will now have access to the following:
- Engaging content for every customer, with over 16,000 courses in 7 different languages
- A simple, time-saving login flow for customers that only requires a library card number and PIN, without the need for a LinkedIn profile
- An updated, easy-to-use, intuitive interface
- Previous course history from Lynda.com
-
Canada's national current affairs magazine. Coverage includes news, social issues, politics, business, sports, health, education, arts and entertainment.
Help Guide(s)
Usage info
-
More than 70 world languages and dialects, English language learning, and assorted specialty courses to meet specific subject matter interests.
-
The world's premier resource for classical music videos, it gives you unlimited and simultaneous access to stunning live events streamed every year from the world’s most prestigious venues. Plus, it offers thousands of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes, and many more films from the 1940s through to the present day. Available on all digital devices anytime, anywhere.
-
MyHeritage Library Edition™ contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources. Available in 40 languages, it is the largest, most internationally diverse family history research database in the world.
Users can access MyHeritage Library Edition either at the library or from the comfort of home via built-in remote access
