You are here

  • New Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up Service begins in June

    29/05/2020

    OPL will offer a new Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up service at six branch locations: Main, Nepean Centrepointe, Cumberland, Beaverbrook, Greenboro, Ruth E. Dickson, during new hours of operation.

    • On Monday, June 8, these locations will begin accepting returns; and,
    • On Monday, June 15, holds pick up by appointment will start.

    Find the details of this new curbside service here.

    All OPL branches and Bookmobile stops remain closed to the public.

    • Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • All book drops remain closed.

    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact  InfoService by phone or email
    from Monday to Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm.

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Genealogy

Homepage of Ancestry Library
A collection of thousands of individual genealogy databases from many different institutions. It includes American, Canadian and U.K. sources as well as some for Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Canadian coverage includes major sources such as the censuses from 1851...
This remote access will be valid temporarily until June 30, 2020. Previously Ancestry Library was only available for in-library use.
Homepage of Early Canadiana Online
This bilingual online resource offers historical content about Canada from the first European settlers to the early 20th century. This includes digitized books, magazines and government documents and spans 21 languages.
Logo for Genealogy Quebec
In-Library Use Only. Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institute. Includes baptism and death certificates (1621-1849), the Fond Drouin registries from...
Homepage for Globe and Mail - ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1844-2016)
This digitized version of The Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered. Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search.
Homepage for Ottawa Citizen database
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through...
Logo pour PRDH (Programme de recherche en démographie historique)
In-Library Use Only. Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants. The PRDH’s mandate is to help piece together the...