You are here

  • UPDATE – Provincial announcement regarding public libraries and pickups

    28/05/2020

    We greatly appreciate the Province’s announcement that as part of the first phase of reopening libraries can begin to offer pick-up or delivery of materials. 

    There is a lot of work to do be able to offer these services while ensuring the safety of our employees and our customers. Our plan to resume our physical services needs to account for physical distancing requirements, provision of personal protective equipment, enhanced sanitary controls, and new protocols for employees and customers. We are working on offering holds pick-ups as soon as we can safely do so.  

    We will be communicating all new developments in our service offering to you on all our platforms, as soon as we have updates. 

    Thank you for your patience as we move through this rapidly evolving situation. 

    ******

    OPL branches, Bookmobile stops and Homebound delivery services are closed until June 30, 2020. The closure is in response to advice from Ottawa Public Health (OPH) with regards to COVID-19 (coronavirus) for the health and safety of our community. We will continue to monitor the situation and reassess as the situation evolves. Currently, please note:  

    • Due dates for all currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • Book drops are not available since branches are closed. Hold on to OPL items and return them when branches reopen. 
    • Holds are suspended, and pick up expiry dates extended. This includes interlibrary loans (ILL).
    • Meeting room rentals are cancelled, and fees are being refunded; and
    • Computer bookings, programs, events and outreach activities are cancelled.
    • Expired cards, or those about to expire, have been extended. 

    You can use the Library online:

    We thank you for your patience and support, and we look forward to seeing you online and in person again soon.

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Homework

Britannica Library for Kids
Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports.
Homepage for Canadian Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
Homepage for EBSCOhost_ eBooks Cricket Media Subscription Collection
Build strong literacy skills in students from pre-K to 8th grade by offering digital access to award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles by Cricket Media. This unique e-book collection explores a wide range of subjects to help young readers explore...
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June 30,2020
Homepage for EBSCOhost_Canadian Literary Centre
With a deliberate Canadian focus, this database consists of book and reference content from Essays on Canadian Writing Press (ECW Press). ECW Press also provides several individual monographs, author biographies, essays, literary criticism and book reviews.
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June.30,2020
Homepage of EBSCOhost_Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue — including information on key topics of interest to Canadian researchers — this database helps students develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June 30,2020
Homepage of eduMedia
Free with login covid19 and password edumedia. Short animations in English and French with complementary texts to learn about scientific concepts.
Homepage of Encyclopédie Découverte
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a dictionary, photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history...
Homepage of Encyclopædia Universalis Junior
Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.
Homepage for Infobase: Home Study Resources
This portal includes 15 subject-specific online databases and non-fiction eBooks covering a wide range of grades and subjects. It will be helpful to students studying at home during the COVID-19 school closures.
Login Information:
Username: OttawaPL
Password: digital
Free access will be valid until June 9, 2020.