You are here

  • New Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up Service begins in June

    29/05/2020

    OPL will offer a new Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up service at six branch locations: Main, Nepean Centrepointe, Cumberland, Beaverbrook, Greenboro, Ruth E. Dickson, during new hours of operation.

    • On Monday, June 8, these locations will begin accepting returns; and,
    • On Monday, June 15, holds pick up by appointment will start.

    Find the details of this new curbside service here.

    All OPL branches and Bookmobile stops remain closed to the public.

    • Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • All book drops remain closed.

    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact  InfoService by phone or email
    from Monday to Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm.

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Kids

Britannica Library for Kids
Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports.
Homepage for Canadian Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
Homepage for EBSCOhost_ eBooks Cricket Media Subscription Collection
Build strong literacy skills in students from pre-K to 8th grade by offering digital access to award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles by Cricket Media. This unique e-book collection explores a wide range of subjects to help young readers explore...
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June 30,2020
Homepage of Encyclopédie Découverte
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a dictionary, photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history...
Homepage of Encyclopædia Universalis Junior
Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.
Homepage for Infobase: Home Study Resources
This portal includes 15 subject-specific online databases and non-fiction eBooks covering a wide range of grades and subjects. It will be helpful to students studying at home during the COVID-19 school closures.
Login Information:
Username: OttawaPL
Password: digital
Free access will be valid until June 9, 2020.
Homepage for Just for Kids
Over 8,092 fun and informative video and audio titles featuring Berenstain Bears, Franklin the Turtle, Wild Kratts and many more. Subject areas include arts, music, animals, sports, hobbies, math, science and reading. More than 430 educational interactives are also available.
Homepage of NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
Homepage for TumbleBook Library
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
Homepage for TumbleBookCloud Jr.
Access TumbleBookCloud Jr . Tumble Book Cloud Junior includes over 600 titles, including ebooks, read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos from National Geographic, and audiobooks. This collection is designed for readers in grades 3 - 6.
Homepage for TumbleMath
TumbleMath is a comprehensive collection of online math, story and picture books that includes full narration and animation. Lesson plans and quizzes are available and specifically written to address math standards.