You are here

  • New Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up Service begins in June

    29/05/2020

    OPL will offer a new Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up service at six branch locations: Main, Nepean Centrepointe, Cumberland, Beaverbrook, Greenboro, Ruth E. Dickson, during new hours of operation.

    • On Monday, June 8, these locations will begin accepting returns; and,
    • On Monday, June 15, holds pick up by appointment will start.

    Find the details of this new curbside service here.

    All OPL branches and Bookmobile stops remain closed to the public.

    • Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • All book drops remain closed.

    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact  InfoService by phone or email
    from Monday to Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm.

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Magazines

Homepage of A-Z list -Full Text Finder
Want to know which database includes your favourite magazines and newspapers? Our A-Z list-Full Text Finder makes it easy to search for specific magazines and newspapers.
Homepage for Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Homepage for Consumer Reports
ConsumerReports.org provides unbiased ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice from expert Consumer Reports’ testers for thousands of products and services such as cars, electronics, appliances, and more. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to find the...
Homepage for Eureka.cc
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
Homepage for Flipster
Access today's edition of popular magazine titles including Hello! Canada, Maclean's, Scientific American, Time, People and others.
Homepage of Academic OneFile
Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
Homepage for iPolitics
iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage for Maclean's
Canada's national current affairs magazine. Coverage includes news, social issues, politics, business, sports, health, education, arts and entertainment.
Homepage for PressReader
Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world. Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to articles. Canadian newspaper titles include the Ottawa Citizen, the Globe and Mail, National Post, Le Devoir...
Access to The Globe and Mail is limited to customers using PressReader in a library branch due to restrictions imposed by the publisher. The Washington Post is no longer available from the PressReader platform as per the publisher's request.
However, full text access for The Washington Post is available from our other two databases: Academic OneFile and Gale OneFile: Business.(delayed 1 day).
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available from Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest. It doesn't include the pictures, charts or graphs, but it is searchable.
Homepage for RBdigital Magazines (Zinio)
Read many popular magazines including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker and many more. There are no limits on how many magazines you can read. The RBdigital app also includes access to some eAudiobooks.
Notice: Nine (9) magazines are no longer available for renewal from RBDigital. Six (6) of those titles are now available from the Ebsco Flipster. For more information, please check the "Changes to eMagazine subscriptions" blog post.