Provincial State of Emergency: Impact to OPL Services

13/01/2021

OPL services have not been impacted by the provincial announcement on Tuesday, January 12. Curbside returns and holds pickup services will continue at open branches.

Hours of operation will remain the same for most branches. Greely, North Gower, and Richmond branches will shift their hours to close by 8 p.m., and all Bookmobile stops will close by 8 p.m.

For details about current services, please visit this page.

HOLDS: If you would like to pause, cancel, or manage your holds, you can do so in your online account

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

Homepage for Canadian Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
Homepage for Eureka.cc
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
Homepage for L’amour des temps
Online courses to improve your French grammar.
L'amour des temps is no longer available. This application requires Adobe's Flash player, Adobe will block Flash content from running in Flash Player beginning January 12, 2021
The vendor ClarityEnglish didn’t migrate Flash content to new standards yet and could not provide the timeline on when they could finish this update
Homepage for Mango Languages
Mango Languages offers 40 online language learning courses for English speakers and 15 English courses for non-English speakers. Each course has 100 lessons. In each lesson, the students see text and hear dialog that they are invited to repeat.
Homepage of My Canada
Lessons and exercises on Canadian history, geography, government and culture, divided into modules. Students, ESL language learners, new Canadians preparing for their Citizenship exam and people wanting to improve and refine their writing skills will find the core skills lessons...
My Canada is no longer available. This application requires Adobe's Flash Player, Adobe will block Flash content from running in Flash Player beginning January 12, 2021
The vendor ClarityEnglish didn’t migrate Flash content to new standards yet and could not provide the timeline on when they could finish this update.
Pronunciator Logo
Pronunciator is unique in offering personalized courses in any of 163 languages, and instruction in any of 144 home languages, ESL courses, audio lessons, American and Mexican Sign Languages. Pronunciator also includes ProCitizen, comprehensive preparation for the Canadian citizenship test...
Go Mobile The Pronunciator app is written in responsive HTML5, and can be used in any browser — even the browser in your mobile device.
IELTS Logo
The Road to IELTS - Academic module provides an introduction, advice and tutorials, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests. These will help people prepare for the IELTS academic exam for higher education or professional registration in an...
IELTS Logo
The Road to IELTS- General Training module provides an introduction, advice and tutorial, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests. These will help people prepare General Training test for immigration, secondary education, work experience or training programs in...