You are here

  • New Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up Service begins in June

    29/05/2020

    OPL will offer a new Curbside Returns and Holds Pick Up service at six branch locations: Main, Nepean Centrepointe, Cumberland, Beaverbrook, Greenboro, Ruth E. Dickson, during new hours of operation.

    • On Monday, June 8, these locations will begin accepting returns; and,
    • On Monday, June 15, holds pick up by appointment will start.

    Find the details of this new curbside service here.

    All OPL branches and Bookmobile stops remain closed to the public.

    • Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • All book drops remain closed.

    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact  InfoService by phone or email
    from Monday to Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm.

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Research and study

Homepage of Britannica Library
Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites.
Homepage for Canadian Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
Homepage for Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Homepage of EBSCOhost_ eBooks Canadian Subscription Collection
Offer researchers thousands of e-books from top Canadian publishers and authors. This e-book collection covers a diverse range of subjects including topics pertaining to Canada, Canadian history, native culture, politics and current events.
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June 30,2020
Homepage for EBSCOhost_ eBooks Cricket Media Subscription Collection
Build strong literacy skills in students from pre-K to 8th grade by offering digital access to award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles by Cricket Media. This unique e-book collection explores a wide range of subjects to help young readers explore...
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June 30,2020
Homepage for EBSCOhost_Canadian Literary Centre
With a deliberate Canadian focus, this database consists of book and reference content from Essays on Canadian Writing Press (ECW Press). ECW Press also provides several individual monographs, author biographies, essays, literary criticism and book reviews.
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June.30,2020
Homepage of EBSCOhost_Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue — including information on key topics of interest to Canadian researchers — this database helps students develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Login Information: Username: solstrial Password: Spring20202!
This database will be valid until June 30,2020
Homepage of eduMedia
Free with login covid19 and password edumedia. Short animations in English and French with complementary texts to learn about scientific concepts.
Homepage for Eureka.cc
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
Homepage of Academic OneFile
Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
Homepage for Infobase: Home Study Resources
This portal includes 15 subject-specific online databases and non-fiction eBooks covering a wide range of grades and subjects. It will be helpful to students studying at home during the COVID-19 school closures.
Login Information:
Username: OttawaPL
Password: digital
Free access will be valid until June 9, 2020.
Homepage for iPolitics
iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage for Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship.
Homepage for Ottawa Citizen database
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through...