Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
Filter Your Search
Choosing a filter below will cause the page to reload.
-
Kanopy offers a large collection of high-quality films and documentaries from art-house classics to world cinema, all available to play on your PC, phone, tablet, and digital media player.
Starting on November 1, 2023, each client will have 12 tickets per month to watch films on Kanopy. Kanopy Kids is not included in the ticket system, and you can access its content without using any tickets
- With this update, Next to the play button, clients will see how many tickets a title will use and how long they will have access to it before pressing play.
- Episodic content will be labeled so clients know they are getting an entire bingeable season for the ticket value.
- Ticket-free content, including titles in Kanopy Kids, will be labeled as 0 tickets
-
NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,300 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca).
These 5,800 films including documentaries, animation, and interactive resources are 99% Canadian content in English and in French. They provide a focus on Canadian content and ready-made curated channels and playlists on a variety of topics, including children’s movies, Indigenous cinema, Indigenous voices, and reconciliation.
NFB (National Film Board) CampusAvailable for in-library use onlyUsage info
-
A package of over 3,000 popular titles (including Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker, and many more) with varieties of languages and up to three years of back issues are now available for unlimited simultaneous access with no circulation caps.
-
Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants.
Please log in to Genealogy Quebec separately if you would like to use materials linked to both databases.
Usage info
-
Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world. Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to articles. Canadian newspaper titles include the Ottawa Citizen, the Globe and Mail, National Post, Le Devoir, Le Journal de Montréal, and Toronto Star. Internationally you can read USA Today, The Wall Street Journal (USA), The Guardian (United Kingdom), Le Figaro (France), Izvestia (Russia) and Der Tagesspiegel (Germany). Popular magazines include Canadian Geographic, Maximum PC and Canada’s Style at Home.
-
Free and unlimited online courses in French. Learn languages, sewing, singing, coding for kids, watch documentary films, and more! Find audiobooks, BD (graphic novels), as well as games such as sudoku and crossword puzzles.
Library Apps
-
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
Usage info
Library Apps
-
With more than 30,000 articles and 17,000 interactive medias, Universalis covers all domains of knowledge and is the most important general encyclopedia in French. There is also an integrated dictionary with 120,000 definitions. Also offered are weekly exclusive articles, monthly updates, and an atlas with more than 400 maps. Content is enriched with hundreds of animations, videos, musical extracts, and interviews.
-
