This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, Feature articles on different subjects, MacLean’s Magazine articles and The Timeline of Canadian History.
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history and government, science and mathematics, arts, world religions, and sports and hobbies.
Over 8,092 fun and informative video and audio titles featuring Berenstain Bears, Franklin the Turtle, Wild Kratts and many more. Subject areas include arts, music, animals, sports, hobbies, math, science and reading. More than 430 educational interactives are also available.
Naxos MusicBox is a brand new carefully produced and beautifully presented music resource for children.
Naxos MusicBox is an educational tool. It offers friendly, informative written texts, colourful and clear design, and tailored playlists of over 4,000 audio tracks. Selections are presented in logical and engaging ways with lessons and examples. This is not merely a streaming platform; it is intended to enhance the music education of children aged 4–12.
The website is based predominantly on classical music and there are numerous interactive activities included (e.g. multiple-choice listening questions that children can answer online). There are also specific activities for teachers to work through in a classroom. The site will be continually updated and expanded.
Unlimited simultaneous access is available. Instead of using your own library card and PIN to log in, please use the user name and PIN provided below to login to Naxos Musicbox.
Teacher or Parents access : Username: OttawaPLnmbTR , Password: C%h8S!Y#, Teachers or Parents can access everything on the site, including a section of ‘With a teacher’ class activities and accompan...read more usage notes about Naxos MusicBox
Teacher or Parents access : Username: OttawaPLnmbTR , Password: C%h8S!Y#, Teachers or Parents can access everything on the site, including a section of ‘With a teacher’ class activities and accompanying PDF resources, giving clear guidance on what to do.
Student access :, Username: OttawaPLnmbST , Password: hy=6bA3D, Students can access everything on screen, but no PDFs – so no resources or information sheets.
NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
SOLARO is an online study resource. It takes a proactive approach to student’s education by continuing the learning process outside of school hours to supplement what students learn at school.
Students can access full sets of lessons covering core concepts, use building tools such as study notes and flash cards. Practice with quizzes and tests to identify strengths and weaknesses and review detailed solutions to every completed practice question.
All learning content and subjects (English, Mathematics, Science, Biology, Chemistry, and Physics) from Grade 3 to Grade 12 are aligned to the Ontario Curriculum.
Students have unlimited simultaneous access to this resource anytime, anywhere, and on all digital devices.
Customers will need to enter a library card the first time to request a SOLARO Account.
You can then use this information to log in to the website www.solaro.com or to log in through the SOLARO app on your mobile devices.
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
TumbleBookCloud Jr is no longer active. Any k-6 titles from this resource are available on TumbleBook Library. There were some titles in TumbleBookCloud Jr. (TBC JR) that were created to the upper middle schoolers, those are available on TeenBookCloud.
TumbleMath is a comprehensive collection of online math, story and picture books that includes full narration and animation. Lesson plans and quizzes are available and specifically written to address math standards.