Regular hours resume on September 7 2021

03/09/2021

Ottawa Public Library will return to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches starting Tuesday, September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService as of Sunday, September 12.  

Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

Fitzroy Harbour and Vernon branches are reopening after being closed since the beginning of the pandemic in March 2020.  

Notice - Carlingwood branch

17/09/2021

The elevator at the Carlingwood branch is currently unavailable.

Rideau branch-Elevator out of service

15/09/2021

The elevator at Rideau is currently out of service for maintenance and repairs. Service will be restored on Monday, September 27th.

Holiday Closure: National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

20/09/2021

All Ottawa Public Library branches will be closed on Thursday, September 30. Access our online services 24/7 on the Ottawa Public Library website.

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

  • Homepage for Canadian Reference Centre
    Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
  • Homepage for Eureka.cc
    The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
  • Homepage of Academic OneFile
    Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
     Login to Gale Academic Onefile by using your library account
     Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
     Type Globe and Mail in the search box
     Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
     Select different years and browse specific issues
  • Homepage for iPolitics
    iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
    This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.