Current In-Person Services

18/11/2020

OPEN BRANCHES: 22 of our branches and the Bookmobile are currently open for modified services at this time.

Additional branches will reopen for contactless returns and holds pickup in the fall and early winter. Details: https://biblioottawalibrary.ca/en/blogs/updates-new-branch-reopening-dates

HOURS AND LOCATIONS: for current branch hours.

BOOKMOBILE: for the current Bookmobile stops schedule.

MANDATORY: Masks are required to be worn inside Ottawa Public Library branches, as per theTemporary Mandatory Mask By-law. Customers who are not wearing masks will not be allowed inside branches. Exceptions apply for people with medical exemptions.

You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

Homepage of A-Z list -Full Text Finder
Want to know which database includes your favourite magazines and newspapers? Our A-Z list-Full Text Finder makes it easy to search for specific magazines and newspapers.
Homepage for Canadian Major Dailies
This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and...
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
• Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
• Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
• Type Globe and Mail in the search box
• Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
• Browse specific issues
Homepage for Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Homepage for Eureka.cc
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
Homepage of Academic OneFile
Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
 Login to Gale Academic Onefile by using your library account
 Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
 Type Globe and Mail in the search box
 Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
 Select different years and browse specific issues
Homepage for Globe and Mail - ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1844-2016)
This digitized version of The Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered. Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search.
Homepage for iPolitics
iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage of New York Times
Enjoy high quality journalism and rich multimedia storytelling from the New York Times online. Access includes articles from 1851-1922 and 1981 to present. Please note: You must create a New York Times account to access. An email address is required...
*Please ignore the subscription notices while browsing the site. We recommend that you use Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge to access content from the NYT database.
Homepage of Ottawa Citizen
A searchable archive of 30 days which is part of the database Library PressDisplay. Articles can be translated into German, Greek, Spanish or French. The viewer can also listen to individual articles in any of these languages. To access articles...
Homepage for Ottawa Citizen database
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through...
Homepage for PressReader
Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world. Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to articles. Canadian newspaper titles include the Ottawa Citizen, the Globe and Mail, National Post, Le Devoir...
Access to The Globe and Mail is limited to customers using PressReader in a library branch due to restrictions imposed by the publisher. The Washington Post is no longer available from the PressReader platform as per the publisher's request.
However, full text access for The Washington Post is available from our other two databases: Academic OneFile and Gale OneFile: Business.(delayed 1 day).
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available from Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest. It doesn't include the pictures, charts or graphs, but it is searchable.