You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Your Search Results

  • Want to know which database includes your favourite magazines and newspapers? Our A-Z list-Full Text Finder makes it easy to search for specific magazines and newspapers. 

  • This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features.  Content is updated daily.  Among the titles are The Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist.  The Globe and Mail backfile coverage starts in 1977.

    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.

    ...read more usage notes about Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest (Formerly Canadian Newsstand)
  • Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more.  It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.  

  • The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television. About 20 small Ontario dailies are also included among other French and English language newspapers from across Canada.

  • Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more.  A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text articles, many as far back as 1980.

    Access from home will prompt you to re-enter your library card number.

    Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:

    ...read more usage notes about Gale Academic OneFile (Formerly Academic OneFile)
  • This digitized version of The Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered.   Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search.

  • The Hilltimes.com – Canada’s political and government news service

    Customers can access PDF versions of Ottawa's own twice-weekly newspaper, as well as previous, achieved issues back to 2004, or download and print a copy.  They can also search articles dating back to 1989, and access PDF versions of the Embassy Archives from 2004 to 2016. The Hill Times absorbed Embassy magazine and doubled its print edition to be twice-a-week starting from April 2016.

    In addition to the digital edition of the Hill Times, there will be full access to HillTimes.com for daily updated breaking exclusive stories and in-depth articles about the people, the policies, and the politics that make the news. Enjoy a diversity of opinions and points of view, from various political angles.

    Both In-library and unlimited simultaneous remote access from home are available.

    The Hill Times is independently owned and based in Ottawa. Their website states that they are independent and non-partisan. Articles are written by well-respected journalists.

  • iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.

    This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.

  • Understand the world. Navigate life. Access The New York Times here.

    Whether you’re managing finances, tackling tough parenting problems, or simply looking to make sense of this moment, rely on our original, quality journalism to lead the way.

    Enjoy access to The New York Times, compliments of Ottawa Public Library.

    It’s an essential source for fearless reporting, varied perspectives, and practical advice on nearly every topic — from the vital issues shaping our world to the simple pleasures that make everyday life better.

    Start Exploring Today

    Please note:

    • You must create a New York Times account to access. 
    • An email address is required
    • There is a daily limit on how many remote passes are available.
    • Access does not include the New York Times crossword puzzle and e-reader editions. 
    • If you get a subscription notice while browsing the site, please ignore. 

    *Please ignore the subscription notices while browsing the site. 

    Help Guide(s)

  • A searchable archive of 30 days which is part of the database Library PressDisplay.  Articles can be translated into German, Greek, Spanish or French. The viewer can also listen to individual articles in any of these languages. To access articles published more than 30 days ago, search the Canadian Newsstand database.