You are here

Online Resources

Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning newspaper reading and more.

Online Resources

Homepage of A-Z list -Full Text Finder
Want to know which database includes your favourite magazines and newspapers? Our A-Z list-Full Text Finder makes it easy to search for specific magazines and newspapers.
Homepage of Access Video on Demand
Access Video on Demand is a streaming video platform with a focus on educational films. The collection includes 41,213 videos, 331,668 video segments and 1,094 subject categories. The topics range from Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Science, Mathematics and...
Homepage of Active Reading
A self-paced program designed to develop reading skills. The program has six levels from Elementary to Advanced, with 10 units at each level. Each unit focuses on a specific reading skill such as skimming texts, reading critically or vocabulary building,...
Notice: On December 13, 2019, our customers will be able to use Active Reading not only on desktops, laptops and tablets, but also on your mobile phones.
Homepage of Ancestry Library
A collection of thousands of individual genealogy databases from many different institutions. It includes American, Canadian and U.K. sources as well as some for Australia, New Zealand and Europe. Canadian coverage includes major sources such as the censuses from 1851...
Remote Access will be valid temporarily until December 31, 2020. Previously Ancestry Library was only available for in-library use.
Homepage of ArtistWorks
Access to beginner to advanced lessons for instruments, voice and art.
Homepage of AtoZ World Food
Learn more about food in history and culture while discovering thousands of traditional recipes from 174 countries. AtoZ World Food features: 6,500 + Recipes 750 + World Beer Reviews 13,000 + High Quality photos 500 + Ingredient Articles 850 + Future Culture Articles 6 Food Glossaries Personal Recipe Book
Homepage of Audiobook Cloud
A large assortment of streaming audiobooks that are always available. Includes fiction and nonfiction material for both adults and children.
Homepage of Britannica Library
Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites.
Britannica Library for Kids
Access thousands of articles that cover subjects for school and fun, from nations of the world to animals and sports.
Homepage for Business Writing
Helps learners develop their written business communication skills in the context of emails, SMS, letters and reports. Topics include the writing process, linking ideas and writing clearly.
Homepage for CHOIX Média
Riche de quelque 800 000 références, ChoixMédia recense chaque année de 40 000 titres en langue française, dans tous les domaines et pour tous les publics, sur de multiples supports (livres, DVD, disques compacts, logiciels, etc). ChoixMédia se démarque par...
Homepage for Canadian Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada,...
Homepage for Canadian Major Dailies
This full-text database includes the complete available electronic backfiles for major national and regional newspapers from 1985 to current, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Content is updated daily. Among the titles are The Globe and...
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here.
• Login to Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest
• Click on Publications located on the top bar of the page
• Type Globe and Mail in the search box
• Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail (Jan. 1, 2020 – present)
• Browse specific issues
Homepage for Canadian Reference Centre
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Homepage for Cantook Station
Popular and classic French-language eBooks. Compatible with most devices.
Homepage for Consumer Reports
ConsumerReports.org provides unbiased ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice from expert Consumer Reports’ testers for thousands of products and services such as cars, electronics, appliances, and more. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to find the...
For the optimal experience of using Consumer Reports, we recommend you use Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Safari or Firefox. Since CR has ended its support for IE in favor of Microsoft Edge.
Homepage for Curio.ca
Curio.ca offers access to thousands of commercial-free educational video and audio streams from CBC and Radio-Canada. Categories include Canadian history, health, business, children's programming, Indigenous studies and many others.
If you would like to create playlists and use other personalized features of Curio.ca, you'll need to create an account by using access code: LWB9-RCBE
Homepage for Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Use the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online to review the lives and achievements of individuals who played important roles in the formation of Canada. This major research and publishing project was launched by the University of Toronto and the Université...
Homepage of Early Canadiana Online
This bilingual online resource offers historical content about Canada from the first European settlers to the early 20th century. This includes digitized books, magazines and government documents and spans 21 languages.
edumedia
Short animations in English, French, Arabic, Spanish, and Russian, amongst other languages, with complementary texts to learn about scientific concepts.
Homepage of Encyclopædia Universalis Junior
Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.
Homepage of Encyclopédie Découverte
Articles include maps, photos, illustrations, diagrams, audio clips, statistics, links to related information and citation information. Icons also direct users to a dictionary, photo gallery, list of activities and web links. Subject areas include people, plants and animals, places, history...
Homepage for Eureka.cc
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC...
Homepage for Flipster
Access today's edition of popular magazine titles including Hello! Canada, Maclean's, Scientific American, Time, People and others.
Homepage of Academic OneFile
Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text...
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
 Login to Gale Academic Onefile by using your library account
 Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
 Type Globe and Mail in the search box
 Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
 Select different years and browse specific issues
Homepage for Gale OneFile: Business
Analyze industry events and trends, company performance and activity, as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Publications include broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings, investment reports, market overviews, country snapshots, and industry...
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available here:
 Login to Gale OneFile: Business by using your library account
 Click on Advanced Search and under SEARCH OPTIONS, click Publication Search
 Type Globe and Mail in the search box
 Click on the search results for The Globe and Mail
 Select different year and browse specific issues
Homepage for Globe and Mail - ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1844-2016)
This digitized version of The Globe and Mail includes all of the newspapers' sections, images, classifieds, advertisements, births, deaths, political cartoons and more for the dates covered. Users can browse by date or perform a keyword search.
Grant Connect
Grant Connect is a fundraising platform that connects charities with funders who share their cause. Find new prospects by searching comprehensive data managed by the expert research team.With Grant Connect, you have access to: ● Over 11,000 Canadian foundations, 560...
Grant Connect is available for in-library use.
Please call Library Info Services 613-580-2940 to get temporary remote access code.
Homepage of Généology Québec
In-Library Use Only. Provides access to over 42,000,000 images and files from the origins of New France to today, drawn from the search tools of the Drouin Genealogical Institute. Includes baptism and death certificates (1621-1849), the Fond Drouin registries from...
Homepage for Hoopla
This digital media service provides customers access to motion picture films, television shows and complete music albums. There are more than 230,000 titles in this collection, which includes current and past hits, as well as classics. There is a variety of genres to choose from, with something for all ages.
You can stream or temporarily download up to 4 titles per month per card.
Homepage for iPolitics
iPolitics is Canada’s only digital-native news service covering politics, policy and the business of government. Learn how politicians make decisions that affect your life and our country. From daily news to deep analysis - we’ve got you covered.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage for Just for Kids
Over 8,092 fun and informative video and audio titles featuring Berenstain Bears, Franklin the Turtle, Wild Kratts and many more. Subject areas include arts, music, animals, sports, hobbies, math, science and reading. More than 430 educational interactives are also available.
Homepage for Kanopy
Kanopy offers a large collection of high quality films and documentaries from art-house classics to world cinema, all available to play on your PC, phone, tablet and digital media player. You can stream up to 4 films per month. At...
You can watch up to 4 films per month per card.
You can check out 1 series from The Great Courses per month per card with 30 days access
Unlimited plays for any video in Kanopy Kids.
Homepage for Learning Express Library
Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses and exam preparation for work and life at all school levels.
Homepage for Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship.
Homepage for Lynda.com
With over 4,000 video courses from top experts, Lynda.com is the place to go for learning technology, creative and business skills you can use today.
Homepage for L’amour des temps
Online courses to improve your French grammar.
Homepage for Maclean's
Canada's national current affairs magazine. Coverage includes news, social issues, politics, business, sports, health, education, arts and entertainment.
Homepage for Mango Languages
Mango Languages offers 40 online language learning courses for English speakers and 15 English courses for non-English speakers. Each course has 100 lessons. In each lesson, the students see text and hear dialog that they are invited to repeat.
Homepage of My Canada
Lessons and exercises on Canadian history, geography, government and culture, divided into modules. Students, ESL language learners, new Canadians preparing for their Citizenship exam and people wanting to improve and refine their writing skills will find the core skills lessons...
Homepage of NFB - Campus
NFB Campus streams almost 1,500 more films than the free NFB site. (Those 1,500 extra films are only available for streaming in library through OPL NFB Campus subscription; The other 4,500 films are available free from NFB site www.nfb.ca )...
Homepage for Naxos Music Library
Offers streaming access to over 1 million tracks of classical music. Can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime with your library card. Also features an app that can be used on iPhones, iPads and Android devices.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is : OttawaPLpd8QXZ
Homepage for Naxos Music Library Jazz
This includes a mix of jazz legends and contemporary jazz and can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. You can also listen to this resource through the Naxos Music Library app for iPhones, iPads and Android devices. Please note...
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLjazPD07WGE
Homepage for Naxos Music Library World
Naxos Music Library World offers a wide range of music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented, over 1.500 cultural groups represented, and music from over 150 countries. Enjoy the complete...
This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLnmlwPD3TMU
Homepage for Naxos Spoken Word Library
Listen to the world's literature! Access the complete catalogue of critically acclaimed Naxos audiobooks, with transcriptions available for English language learning. Categories for Children's Classics, Classic Fiction, and Shakespeare's plays. New titles are added monthly.
This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLSWpd03XYW
Homepage for Naxos Video Library
Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand. Featuring performances from legendary artists including Placido Domingo, Claudio Abbado, Luciano Pavarotti, Martha Argerich and Herbert von Karajan. Over 2,500 full-length videos.
This product is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage for Naxos Works Database
Naxos Works Database is your online catalogue of classical music works, with a wealth of detail like duration, instrumentation, publisher and work introductions. With more than 26,000 works and new works being added every day, it is your gateway to...
This product is limited to 1 user at a time. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage of New York Times
Enjoy high quality journalism and rich multimedia storytelling from the New York Times online. Access includes articles from 1851-1922 and 1981 to present. Please note: You must create a New York Times account to access. An email address is required...
*Please ignore the subscription notices while browsing the site. We recommend that you use Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge to access content from the NYT database.
Homepage of NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
Homepage of NoveList Plus
Looking for your next book? Want to find more authors like your favorites? NoveList Plus has all your reading answers. Find books that match your interests, read-alikes for your favorite titles and authors, or ready-made book lists on your favorite genres. With NoveList Plus you'll fill up your to-read list in no time!
Homepage of Ottawa Citizen
A searchable archive of 30 days which is part of the database Library PressDisplay. Articles can be translated into German, Greek, Spanish or French. The viewer can also listen to individual articles in any of these languages. To access articles...
Homepage for Ottawa Citizen database
This digitized full-images archives of the Ottawa Citizen provides genealogists, researchers and general public with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This will allow Ottawans to digitally travel back through...
Homepage of Overdrive
eBooks and downloadable audiobooks. Compatible with most devices.
Notice: eAudio books previously available through the RBdigital will be moved to the library’s OverDrive service and available through Libby on September 15,2020.
Homepage of PRDH
In-Library Use Only. Database containing a directory of civil status records (baptisms, marriages and burials) in Quebec (1621-1799), a genealogical dictionary of families (1621-1765) and a directory of couples and descendants. The PRDH’s mandate is to help piece together the...
Homepage for PressReader
Provides access to today’s newspapers and magazines from all over the world. Advanced features allow automated translation as well the ability to listen to articles. Canadian newspaper titles include the Ottawa Citizen, the Globe and Mail, National Post, Le Devoir...
Access to The Globe and Mail is limited to customers using PressReader in a library branch due to restrictions imposed by the publisher. The Washington Post is no longer available from the PressReader platform as per the publisher's request.
However, full text access for The Washington Post is available from our other two databases: Academic OneFile and Gale OneFile: Business.(delayed 1 day).
Full text remote access for Globe & Mail is available from Canadian Major Dailies_ProQuest. It doesn't include the pictures, charts or graphs, but it is searchable.
Homepage for RBdigital Audiobooks
Download and listen to eAudiobooks from Recorded Books. Includes exclusive titles from several popular authors including Madeleine Thien, Linwood Barclay, Eric McCormack, Amanda Quick, Danielle Steel and many more.
Notice: eAudio books previously available through the RBdigital will be moved to the library’s OverDrive service and available through Libby on September 15,2020.
Homepage for RBdigital Magazines (Zinio)
Read over 3,000 popular magazines in 18 languages including The Economist, Canadian Living, National Geographic, The New Yorker and many more. There are no limits on how many magazines you can read. The RBdigital app also includes access to some eAudiobooks.
Notice: Nine (9) magazines are no longer available for renewal from RBDigital. Six (6) of those titles are now available from the Ebsco Flipster. For more information, please check the "Changes to eMagazine subscriptions" blog post.
Homepage for ReferenceCanada
A directory of 2.1 million Canadian company profiles compiled from telephone directories, annual reports, government data, chamber of commerce information, business magazines, newspapers, specialty directories, and postal services information. Enables entrepreneurs, job-hunters, and consumers to find businesses in any industry...
Road to IELTS_Academic Module
The Road to IELTS - Academic module provides an introduction, advice and tutorials, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests. These will help people prepare for the IELTS academic exam for higher education or professional registration in an...
Road to IELTS - General Training Module
The Road to IELTS- General Training module provides an introduction, advice and tutorial, as well as interactive practices and simulated mock tests. These will help people prepare General Training test for immigration, secondary education, work experience or training programs in...
Homepage for Teen Book Cloud
A collection of Graphic Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources and audiobooks, perfect for middle school and high school students. It features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read...
Screenshot of Teen Health and Wellness homepage
Offers teens in-depth and readable articles and self-help tools on health and life topics such as: body basics, developmental disabilities and disorders, diseases and infections, diversity, drugs and alcohol, eating disorders, family life, friendship and dating, green living, mind, mood...
Homepage for Tense Buster
ESL program that helps students improve their reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and grammar skills in five levels.
Homepage for Toutapprendre
Free and unlimited online courses in French. Learn languages, sewing, singing, coding for kids, and more!
Homepage for TumbleBook Library
Collection of online books created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books from major children's book publishers and designed to develop a love of reading in children. The books can be read by parents to their children or read by a child. Games, quizzes and other activities are included to help develop reading skills. TumbleBookLibrary can be used in English, French and Spanish.
Homepage for TumbleBookCloud Jr.
Tumble Book Cloud Junior includes over 600 titles, including ebooks, read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos from National Geographic, and audiobooks. This collection is designed for readers in grades 3 - 6.
Homepage for TumbleMath
TumbleMath is a comprehensive collection of online math, story and picture books that includes full narration and animation. Lesson plans and quizzes are available and specifically written to address math standards.
Homepage for Value Line
The Value Line Investment Survey and Small & Midcap Survey offers access to over 3,500 stocks across 100 industries. This includes analysts’ reports, statistics and forecasts of stock performance.
Notice: This product is limited to 6 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Homepage for Worxica
Worxica, a curated job vacancy archive, is Canada's first free big data job market research tool. It's built specifically for job seekers and recruiters. The tools is a curated, online archive of two million Canadian job vacancies advertised over the...