LearningExpress Library Canada includes academic skill-building, test preparation and career-related resources all in one easy-to-use online platform. Organized into targeted learning centers, this all-in-one resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass English proficiency tests or the Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC), prepare for college, join the military or RCMP Police Aptitude Test (RPAT), obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a Canadian citizen, and much more. Learning centers contain practice tests, interactive tutorials, e-books, articles and flashcards.
Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
Filter Your Search
Choosing a filter below will cause the page to reload.
-
Learning Express Library
Usage Info
-
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship.
Usage Info
-
LinkedIn Learning for Library
LinkedIn Learning for Library is an upgrade to the previous Lynda Library product, providing continued lifelong learning opportunities for all of our Clients.
Over 16,000 video tutorial courses led by experts in Business, Creative, and Technology. Some tutorials are available in English, French, German, Japanese, Mandarin, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Customers will now have access to the following:
- Engaging content for every customer, with over 16,000 courses in 7 different languages
- A simple, time-saving login flow for customers that only requires a library card number and PIN, without the need for a LinkedIn profile
- An updated, easy-to-use, intuitive interface
- Previous course history from Lynda.com
- From March 31st, 2022, any clients who have not yet logged into LinkedIn Learning for Library will not have their Lynda history migrated over.
- The LinkedIn Learning mobile application is now available for library clients. After downloading it from the app store, They will select Sign in with their library card to log in.
Enter the "library ID" as "ottawa" after www.linkedin.com/learning-login/go/ and then click Continue and enter the library card # and PIN - For course completions, the clients will see the course completions in their history and get a certificate, however, their Personal Identifier Information (PII) will not appear on the certificate. i.e. clients will not get a certificate in their name,
- The library version of LinkedIn Learning can’t connect with the client's personal LinkedIn account.
Usage Info
-
Maclean's
Canada's national current affairs magazine. Coverage includes news, social issues, politics, business, sports, health, education, arts and entertainment.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Mango Languages
More than 70 world languages and dialects, English language learning, and assorted specialty courses to meet specific subject matter interests.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
MAURIL : Digital Platform for Learning French and English
Mauril is a new, free digital platform to help clients learn English and French.
- 100% Canadian French and English
- Exercises designed for all levels
- Progress at your own pace
- A wide range of stimulating, entertaining , and captivating content from CBC/Radio-Canada
- Improve oral comprehension and integrate language knowledge in everyday life
- Feel more confident using French or English in any context
Getting started with Mauril is easy. Download the app on Apple and Android mobile phones and tablets, or use the website version. Simply create a profile and access your learning journey from any device, whenever and wherever you wish!
The platform is called Mauril to pay tribute to the Honourable Mauril Bélanger, the former Ottawa-Vanier MP who championed official languages in Canada. It is financed and endorsed by the Government of Canada, this new tool is designed and deployed by CBC/Radio-Canada, in collaboration with a committee of pedagogical experts..
-
Medici.tv | EDU
The world's premier resource for classical music videos, it gives you unlimited and simultaneous access to stunning live events streamed every year from the world’s most prestigious venues. Plus, it offers thousands of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes, Jazz, and many more films from the 1940s through to the present day. Available on all digital devices anytime, anywhere.
The new Jazz music collection is available now. You can simply click the 'Jazz' tab at the top of the Medici.tv home page.
You can change the language setting to English, French, Spanish, and Russian
A new feature on Medici. tv: you can create your individual account. For more detailed info, please click the help guide link
Medici.tv|EDU iOS mobile app & Android mobile app are now available!
Download it at no cost, sign in using your existing individual account, and cast the extensive on-demand catalog and live streams to your TV with Airplay or Chromecast.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
MyHeritage Library Edition
MyHeritage Library Edition™ contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources. Available in 40 languages, it is the largest, most internationally diverse family history research database in the world.
Users can access MyHeritage Library Edition either at the library or from the comfort of home via built-in remote access
Please note:
MyHeritage Library Edition, differs from the consumer version of My Heritage
Personal authentication and all personalization features, such as tree creation, have been expressly disabled in the Library Edition by design to protect the privacy of users.
Help Guide(s):
-
Naxos Music Library
Offers streaming access to over 1 million tracks of classical music. Can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime with your library card. Also features an app that can be used on iPhones, iPads and Android devices.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
In order to properly end a session and free up a user count, please click on the Log-Out button.
- Mobile App activation code is : OttawaPLpd12WDP 1. Download App 2. Select "Connect with your institution. 3. Type in the above activation code, 4. Click "SUBMIT" 5. Create account. 6. Check your email to activate Naxos Music Library personal playlist account.
- Your access to the mobile app will be temporarily deactivated if you haven't logged into the web version of the service via our library's authentication system for six months. You can re-activate your account in the following steps:
- Log in to Naxos Music Library through our website using your library card and PIN
- Navigate to the Playlists section of the website
- Login to your Member Account to re-activate your account
- Naxos Music Library has been upgraded from Standard Sound Quality (128kbps) to Premium Sound Quality (320 kbps) The default setting is Premium Sound Quality, but you can unselect the premium and convert to standard.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):
-
Naxos Music Library Jazz
This includes a mix of jazz legends and contemporary jazz and can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. You can also listen to this resource through the Naxos Music Library app for iPhones, iPads and Android devices. Please note that Naxos Music Library Jazz is limited to 20 concurrent users.
In order to properly end a session and free up a user count, please click on the Log-Out button.
This product is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later.
Mobile App activation code is: OttawaPLjazPD11MZD,
1. Download App. 2. Select "Connect with your institution. 3. Type in the above activation code., 4. Click "SUBMIT" 5. Create account. 6. Check your email to activate Naxos Music Library Jazz personal playlist account..,
Your access to the mobile app will be temporarily deactivated if you haven't logged into the web version of the service via our library's authentication system for six months. You can re-activate your account in the following steps:
- Log in to Naxos Music Library Jazz through our website using your library card and PIN
- Navigate to the Playlists section of the website
- Login to your Member Account to re-activate your account
Naxos Music Library Jazz has been upgraded from Standard Sound Quality (128kbps) to Premium Sound Quality (320 kbps) The default setting is Premium Sound Quality, but you can unselect the premium and convert to standard.
Usage Info
Help Guide(s):