Mediaroom

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

 

Ottawa – City Council approved the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) 2017 operating and capital budget on December 14, 2016. The complete budget envelope is $47.235 million, which includes funding for both operating and capital expenses. 

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Ottawa – ‘Tis the season for too much …everything! Counter the holiday season’s excesses‒both food-related and budgetary‒by attending the Ottawa Public Library’s Healthy Eating on a Budget program on Thursday, December 8, 6 p.m.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Ottawa –  On your mark, get set, write: starting December 1, young Ottawans are invited to create a poem, a short story, or a comic for the Ottawa Public Library’s Awesome Authors youth writing contest!  Are you between the age of 9 and 17 and have things to say?

Friday, November 25, 2016

Ottawa – The adult collection at the Hazeldean branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be unavailable from Wednesday, November 30 to Saturday, December 3, inclusive, while new shelving is being installed.

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Ottawa- Starting January 2017, the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will mark Canada’s 150th anniversary with a year-long celebration of Storytelling.

Monday, November 14, 2016

Ottawa-The Ottawa Public Library will be honouring Carol Parker with a commemorative naming of the reading room in the Greely branch of the Ottawa Public Library in recognition of her extensive community service. Join us Tuesday, November 22 at 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Ottawa-  The Ottawa Public Library, RDÉE Ontario (Réseau de développement économique et d’employabilité), Regroupement des gens d’affaires de la Capitale nationale (RGA) and La Cité des affaires, invite you to take part in the Réseautage d’affaires,

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Study shows Ottawans receive $5.17 in benefits for every $1 invested

OTTAWA – A recent study of the economic benefits of the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) shows that Ottawans receive $5.17 in benefits for every $1 invested in the library system.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Ottawa – Ahoy mateys! Reading pirates ahead! The TVOKids Bookaneers Tour, supported by TD Bank, will drop anchor at the Nepean Centrepointe branch of the Ottawa Public Library on Saturday, November 19 at 2:00 p.m. for an afternoon of reading fun.

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Ottawa – The North Gower branch of the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is celebrating its 125th anniversary on Monday, November 14, 2016 in style!

Monday, October 31, 2016

Ottawa – The Carp branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be closed Friday, November 18 and Saturday, November 19 for improvements. 

During the closure, new shelving will be installed in the children’s section and parts of the branch will be repainted.

Monday, October 24, 2016

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) has added a brand new Bookmobile to its fleet.

Monday, October 24, 2016

Ottawa – As part of its food literacy project à la carte, the Ottawa Public Library will host registered dieticians from Loblaws who will share their expertise in nutrition at several programs in OPL branches throughout the city this November.

Friday, October 14, 2016

Ottawa It’s Library Month and the Ottawa Public Library is inviting customers of all ages to explore their favorite OPL branch like never before on Saturday, October 22 with a treasure hunt.

Friday, October 7, 2016

Ottawa From October 20 to 27, the Ottawa Public Library is running a Facebook contest to amuse and enthuse you using little more than your imagination an

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Ottawa The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is inviting the public to step into the #GIFnTAKE booth starting Tuesday, October 18, and be a star!

Monday, October 3, 2016

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library will be hosting the play Le Voyage d’Azhar on Sunday, October 30, at 10:30 a.m., at the Richcraft Theatre of the Shenkman Arts Centre.

Friday, September 30, 2016

Ottawa- On October 14 and 15, à la carte, the Ottawa Public Library’s food literacy project, teams up with the Ottawa International Writers Festival to host three major author and food literacy events at Christ Church Cathedral: