Mediaroom

Friday, February 10, 2017

OTTAWA – OPL/BPO Canada 150 in partnership with Amnesty International presents: Last Chance, a National Film Board feature documentary which tells the story of five asylum seekers fleeing homophobic violence in their native countries, and the hu

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Ottawa – The Blackburn Hamlet branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be closed over two periods this winter and spring for improvements.The first closure is from Monday, February 27 to Thursday, March 9, inclusive. It will reopen Friday, March 10.

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Decision advances municipal-federal collaboration on joint facility

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library is joining the festivities to mark Canada’s 150th anniversary by celebrating the art of Storytelling throughout the year.

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Winterlude is here! From February 3 to 20, Winterlude festivities will be taking over the Ottawa-Gatineau region. Join the Ottawa Public Library’s Bookmobile every Sunday of Winterlude at the Marion Dewar Plaza (in front of City Hall), from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Ottawa City Council to make final decisions on February 8

Monday, January 30, 2017

Ottawa As part of its food literacy project à la carte, the Ottawa Public Library is hosting Chef Bruce Wood for three delicious Cooking Essentials workshops

Friday, January 27, 2017

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is pleased to announce two new additional online resources this winter.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is celebrating a record-breaking number of checkouts in 2016 for eBooks (820,826) and audiobooks (201,824), totalling 1,022,650!

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Ottawa – Young writers of Ottawa! The Ottawa Public Library’s Awesome Authors youth writing contest is underway, and we have several workshops to help you create your poem, short story, or comic.

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Ottawa – It’s 2017 and the Ottawa Public Library is joining the festivities to mark Canada’s 150th anniversary by celebrating the art of STORYTELLING throughout the year.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

 

Ottawa – City Council approved the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) 2017 operating and capital budget on December 14, 2016. The complete budget envelope is $47.235 million, which includes funding for both operating and capital expenses. 

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Ottawa – ‘Tis the season for too much …everything! Counter the holiday season’s excesses‒both food-related and budgetary‒by attending the Ottawa Public Library’s Healthy Eating on a Budget program on Thursday, December 8, 6 p.m.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Ottawa –  On your mark, get set, write: starting December 1, young Ottawans are invited to create a poem, a short story, or a comic for the Ottawa Public Library’s Awesome Authors youth writing contest!  Are you between the age of 9 and 17 and have things to say?

Friday, November 25, 2016

Ottawa – The adult collection at the Hazeldean branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be unavailable from Wednesday, November 30 to Saturday, December 3, inclusive, while new shelving is being installed.

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Ottawa- Starting January 2017, the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will mark Canada’s 150th anniversary with a year-long celebration of Storytelling.

Monday, November 14, 2016

Ottawa-The Ottawa Public Library will be honouring Carol Parker with a commemorative naming of the reading room in the Greely branch of the Ottawa Public Library in recognition of her extensive community service. Join us Tuesday, November 22 at 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Ottawa-  The Ottawa Public Library, RDÉE Ontario (Réseau de développement économique et d’employabilité), Regroupement des gens d’affaires de la Capitale nationale (RGA) and La Cité des affaires, invite you to take part in the Réseautage d’affaires,

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Study shows Ottawans receive $5.17 in benefits for every $1 invested

OTTAWA – A recent study of the economic benefits of the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) shows that Ottawans receive $5.17 in benefits for every $1 invested in the library system.