Mediaroom

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Ottawa – Back in June, we launched our annual summer reading programs for youth, and so far, 13,444 kids 12 and under have participated in the TD Summer Reading Club (TDSRC), and 344 adolescents have registered for the Teen Summer Reading program.

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is one step closer to realizing its vision for a new Central Library after City Council approved the Central Library development as a strategic initiative in the 2015 – 2018 Term of Council Priorities.

Monday, July 6, 2015

Ottawa – The Ruth E. Dickinson branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be closed from Tuesday, July 21 to Wednesday, July 29. This is the second of two short scheduled closures this summer required as part of the branch retrofit.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is holding a summer-long reading program for teens, ages 13 to 18, who are invited to post reviews or comments online on any item in the OPL catalogue.

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) invites kids to participate in the TD Summer Reading Club (TDSRC). Last year, more than 16,800 children registered for the Club. This year’s theme, Play, will be sure to spark enthusiasm in children of all ages.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) is holding its third annual “Celebrating Cultures in our Community” series of programs across the city at various branches, in conjunction with the Ottawa Local Immigration Partnership’s Welcoming Ottawa

Monday, June 15, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) has partnered with Ottawa Therapy Dogs and Therapeutic Paws of Canada to offer dog therapy programs at various branches during the summer teen exam period.

Friday, June 5, 2015

Ottawa –The Ottawa Champions Baseball Club and the Ottawa Public Library will announce a partnership that supports OPL’s TD Summer Reading Club summer programs. The programs will be themed with Play, and focus on reading, learning and physical activity.

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) launched its new mini Bookmobile today, which features an exciting new collection and improves OPL’s ability to bring services and programs directly to customers in their own communities. 

Monday, June 1, 2015

Ottawa – Tim Tierney, Chair of the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) Board, and Councillor of Beacon Hill-Cyrville, will launch the new mini Bookmobile with a demonstration of its many features as it prepares to hit the road, serving OPL customers across the city.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Ottawa – The Ruth E. Dickinson branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be closed from Monday, June 8 to Wednesday, June 10. This is the first of two short scheduled closures this summer required as part of the branch retrofit.

Monday, May 25, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will be offering special workshops in June, during National Aboriginal History Month.

Saturday, June 6

Friday, May 22, 2015

Ottawa – Pursuant to Section 16 of the Procedure By-law 2015, the Chair of the Ottawa Public Library (OPL) Board has called a Special Meeting of the Board for Tuesday, May 26, 2015 in the Honeywell Room at 4 p.m., for the purposes of discussing the OPL submission for the Canada 1

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Ottawa – The Alta Vista branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be closed on Friday, May 22 for regular maintenance.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Ottawa – Award winning Canadians authors Susin Nielsen (We are all made of molecules) and Susan Juby (The Truth Commission) are sharing their new books at a Special Edition of the Ottawa Public Library’s (

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library (OPL) will be hosting its fourth annual Awards Night & Video Screening for the Teen Tech Week Video Contest on April 30, at 7:30 p.m. at the Centrepointe Studio Theatre, 101 Centrepointe Drive.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Ottawa – The Carp branch of the Ottawa Public Library will be closed on from Saturday, May 2 – Monday, May 4 to receive improvements.

The book drop will be available during the closure. The nearest alternate service location is the Beaverbrook branch (2500 Campeau).

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Ottawa – The Ottawa Public Library is hosting an annual Short Story Contest for older adults.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Ottawa – The Rosemount branch of the Ottawa Public Library will close at 5:30 p.m. instead of 8:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 16 in order for work on the water main for the nearby Taggart construction project to be completed.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Ottawa – The winners of this year’s Ottawa Public Library (OPL) Awesome Authors Youth Writing Contest were announced Tuesday, March 31 at Ben Franklin Place.