You are here

  • Contactless Returns and Holds Pickup Service at OPL


    OPL is offering contactless returns and holds pickup service at select branches, during new hours of operation. Find the details of this new service and branch opening dates here.

    • RETURNS will be accepted only during hours of operation, no appointment necessary. Due dates for currently checked out materials have been extended and late fees suspended.
    • HOLDS PICKUPS are by appointment only. Make an appointment here.

    In accordance with Ottawa Public Health directive, please wear a mask when entering a branch.

    For information about Library cards, virtual programs, and more, contact  InfoService by phone or email.

A bit of history

The library was founded in 1906 with a donation from the Carnegie Foundation. The history of OPL between 1906-2001 is available in The Library Book by Phil Jenkins.


On January 1, 2001, the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton was amalgamated as the City of Ottawa. The 25 branches within these outlying Library systems merged with OPL’s eight branches to become one united Ottawa Public Library.

  • Cumberland Township Library
  • Gloucester Public Library
  • Goulbourn Township Library
  • Kanata Public Library
  • Nepean Library
  • Ottawa Public Library
  • Rideau Township Library
  • Rockcliffe Park Public Library
  • Vanier Public Library
  • West Carleton Township Library

Who’s been at the helm

  • 2012 - present: Danielle McDonald, CEO
  • 2012 (acting, January to March): Elaine Condos, City Librarian
  • 1995 - 2011: Barbara Clubb, City Librarian
  • 1979 - 1995: Gilles Frappier, Chief Librarian
  • 1953 - 1979: Claude Aubry, Chief Librarian
  • 1936 - 1953: Frederick Jennings, Chief Librarian
  • 1912 - 1936: William Sykes, City Librarian
  • 1905 - 1912: Lawrence Burpee, Chief Librarian

OPL logos

OPL logo OPL logo OPL logo