Regular hours resumed Sept. 7, 2021

15/10/2021

Ottawa Public Library has returned to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches as of September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService. Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

 

Carp Branch

18/10/2021

Carp branch will be closed on Tuesday, October 26, 2021 for operational use by the City of Ottawa. Regular service will resume Wednesday,  October 27, 2021 at 10 am. 

Overdrive: Issues with older Apple devices or browsers

12/10/2021

Recent changes by Overdrive and Libby have impacted compatibility with older versions of Apple's mobile and desktop operating systems. Those who use older Apple devices (Mac computers running lower than macOS 10.12.1 and iPhones/iPads running iOS 9) may have trouble using the OverDrive desktop or mobile apps, while Libby is no longer supported on iPhones and iPads running iOS 9.

Carlingwood branch: Elevator out of service

18/10/2021

The elevator at Carlingwood branch is currently out of service. 

Alta Vista branch: Reopening October 22

21/10/2021

Alta Vista branch will return to regular service and hours on Friday, October 22, 2021.

You are here

Children's programs

Parent reading to children

Whether you are the parent of a newborn (congratulations!) or you are looking for activities for toddlers, preschoolers, or older children, the library offers programs that will help you guide your child towards success by promoting language, literacy and social skills. Coming to library programs with your family helps promote family bonding and helps develop habits that lead to success. These programs are free and offered at branches throughout the city.

Library programs for young children are created to include books, songs, fingerplays, puppets, rhymes and activities. These programs help build early literacy, listening, and group participation skills in preparation for school.

Babytime

  • Nursery rhymes, knee bounces, board books stories, songs and lullabies are basic literacy foundations for your baby and a great bonding experience for you both
  • For babies ages 0-18 months old and a parent or caregiver.

Toddlertime

  • Music, dance, movement, rhymes, books, and story activities like puppets and flannel board
  • For toddlers aged 18 months old to 3 years old and a parent or caregiver.

Storytime:

  • Stories, songs, rhymes, book activities like puppets and felts, and maybe a complementary craft!
  • For children ages 19 months to school age.

Family Storytime:

  • Stories, songs and rhymes for the whole family to enjoy together.
  • Geared to each audience with something for everyone - children of all ages and their parents.

For older children

The library hosts a variety of free programs and events each year including homework help, reading buddies, book clubs, author visits, musical performances, STEM programming and more. These encourage your child to develop their language and communication skills while exploring topics of interest. While too numerous and varied to list here, our programs can be searched at through our programs and events page.

Retour aux heures normales le 7 septembre

15/10/2021

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa a repris ses heures d'ouverture d’avant la pandémie dans la majorité des succursales depuis le 7 septembre 2021, y inclus les heures d’ouverture le dimanche à dix succursales et à InfoService. Les horaires sont affichés à l’entrée des succursales et sur horaires et emplacements dans le site web de la BPO. 

 

Succursale Carp

18/10/2021

La succursale Carp sera fermée le mardi 26 octobre 2021 pour usage opérationnel de la Ville d’Ottawa. Le service régulier reprendra le mercredi 27 octobre à 10 h. 

Overdrive : Problèmes avec les anciens appareils et navigateurs Apple

12/10/2021

Des récentes modifications apportées par Overdrive et Libby ont eu un impact sur leur compatibilité avec les anciennes versions des systèmes d'exploitation mobiles et bureautiques. Les personnes qui utilisent des appareils Apple plus anciens (ordinateurs Mac qui exécutent macOS 10.12.1 et iPhones/iPads qui exécutent iOS 9) peuvent avoir des difficultés avec les applications mobiles et bureautiques d'OverDrive, tandis que Libby ne permet plus les iPhones et iPads qui exécutent iOS 9 (ces liens ne sont disponibles qu'en anglais).

Succursale Carlingwood

18/10/2021

L'ascenseur de la succursale Carlingwood est actuellement hors service.

Succursale Alta Vista: Prolongation des services en bordure de rue

18/10/2021

La succursale Alta Vista offrira les services en bordure de rue à l’entrée arrière et au parking de 10 h à 18 h jusqu'à nouvel avis.

 

You are here

Activités pour enfants

Parent lisant aux enfants

Que vous soyez nouvellement parent (félicitations!) ou à la recherche d’activités pour tout-petits, enfants d’âge préscolaire ou enfants plus âgés, la Bibliothèque a le programme qu’il vous faut pour accompagner votre enfant dans l’acquisition d’habiletés sociales et de compétences en langue et en littéracie. En participant aux programmes de bibliothèque – accessibles gratuitement dans les diverses succursales de la ville –, votre famille deviendra plus soudée et adoptera des habitudes gages de réussite.

Au menu pour les jeunes enfants : livres, chansons, mélodies à gestes, marionnettes, comptines et activités. Ce sera l’occasion pour eux de faire leurs premiers pas dans les domaines de la littéracie, de l’écoute et de la participation à des activités de groupe en vue de leur entrée à l’école.

Bébés à la biblio

  • Les comptines, jeux sur les genoux, albums cartonnés, chansons et berceuses inculquent à votre bébé les bases de la littéracie, et sont une excellente façon de nouer des liens avec lui.
  • Pour les bébés de 0 à 18 mois accompagnés d’un parent ou d’un gardien.

Tout-petits à la biblio

  • Musique, danse, gestes, comptines, livres et activités narratives (ex. : marionnettes, tableau de feutrine).
  • Pour les tout-petits de 18 mois à 3 ans accompagnés d’un parent ou d’un gardien.

Contes

  • Histoires, chansons, comptines, activités avec des livres (ex. : marionnettes, feutrine) et peut-être même un bricolage!
  • Pour les enfants de 19 mois à d’âge

Contes en famille

  • Histoires, chansons et comptines pour toute la famille.

Adapté à tous les publics; pour les enfants de tous âges et leurs parents.

Les enfants plus âgés

Chaque année, la bibliothèque propose gratuitement un éventail de programmes et d’événements, comme de l’aide aux devoirs, les Copains de lecture, des clubs de lecture, des visites d’auteurs, des prestations musicales et des programmes STIM. L’enfant a ainsi l’occasion de développer ses compétences en langue et en communication tout en explorant des sujets d’intérêt. Ils sont trop nombreux et diversifiés pour qu’on puisse les énumérer ici, mais vous pourrez les trouver sur notre page destinée aux programmes et événements.