Regular hours resume on September 7 2021

03/09/2021

Ottawa Public Library will return to regular pre-pandemic hours at most branches starting Tuesday, September 7, 2021 — including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService as of Sunday, September 12.  

Hours are posted at branch entrances and on the Hours and location page of the OPL website.   

Fitzroy Harbour and Vernon branches are reopening after being closed since the beginning of the pandemic in March 2020.  

Notice - Carlingwood branch

17/09/2021

The elevator at the Carlingwood branch is currently unavailable.

Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre kiosk out of service

13/09/2021

The kiosk machine dispensing adult books at the Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre is currently unavailable.

Rideau branch-Elevator out of service

15/09/2021

The elevator at Rideau is currently out of service for maintenance and repairs. Service will be restored on Monday, September 27th.

You are here

Current Branch Services

As of Tuesday, September 7, 2021, Ottawa Public Library will return to regular pre-pandemic hours in most branches, including Sunday hours at 10 branches and InfoService. The branches open on Sunday are: Main, Beaverbrook, Cumberland, Greenboro, Nepean Centrepointe, Ruth E. Dickinson, North Gloucester, Orleans, Hazeldean , Stittsville and InfoService.

Exceptions: Metcalfe village is open on Saturdays from 10 am to 3 pm for holds pickup and returns. The bookdrop is open 24 hours for returns.

Reopening:Fitzroy Harbour and Vernon branches will open the week of September 7. Hours are posted at branch entrances and under hours and location page on the OPL website. OPL continues to follow direction from the Province of Ontario and guidance from Ottawa Public Health to stop the spread of COVID-19 in our community, and as such, mask-wearing and physical distancing remain mandatory in all OPL branches.

Which branches offer in-person services?

Most of our 31 open branches are offering in-person services inside branches, except: 

  • Alta Vista ‒ temporarily closed from July 26 to August 8
  • Metcalfe Village ‒ contactless services, no access to public computers
  • Fitzroy Harbour and Vernon ‒ OPL is working to reopen these locations as soon as possible.

What can I do at a branch offering enhanced in-person services?

Capacity inside open branches, posted outside, will be limited to permit 2-metres of physical distancing, as per provincial regulations. You may have to wait outside if the capacity limit is reached inside the branch. Please consider others when planning time in-branch to ensure equitable access to everyone. 

Masks must be worn inside and while waiting in line outside the branch. Signage at the branches will show you where to go to pick up your holds, and employees will be there, at a safe distance, to provide additional instructions.

While wearing a mask, you can enter branches to pick up your holds, browse the shelves, and read newspapers and magazines. Borrow passes to museums and parks, tdonate books to the Friends of the Ottawa Public Library Association, and make use of the Imagine Space and Labs, as well as the kiosk at the Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre. Curbside or front desk library services to long-term care facilities will also resume, where permitted.

Return Library items anytime via book drops at all open branches.

Public computers can be reserved online, by calling InfoService at 613-580-2940, or by request at your branch. To book a computer online, go to the Make a Booking tab and choose Book a Computer. You can book a computer 3 days in advance and bookings are limited to one hour a day. Chromebook lending by request will continue for three-hour loans, but they are no longer reservable online. Please request one from a Library employee. Outdoor WiFi is available at many branches.

Access to printers, and photocopiers is allowed by request, where these are available. The online printing request form will continue.

How do I book a computer or print a document?

Public computers can be reserved online. Book a computer online up to three days in advance or call InfoService at 613-580-2940.

Chromebook lending will continue, by request, for loans of up to three hours. Chromebooks are no longer reservable online. Please request through a Library employee or contact Infoservice. Outdoor WiFi is available at many branches.

Customers can submit a print request using the form on the OPL website. A fee of 10 cents per page will be added to the customer’s account.

Can I read newspapers at the branch?

Yes, you can read newspapers and magazines inside most branches. You can also access online newspapers here.

If I have accessibility concerns, what accommodations can I expect?

If you require any accommodations, please speak to an employee for assistance when you arrive at the branch.

How can I get real-time help without going into a branch?

OPL’s Library 1:1 service provides one-on-one 30-minute consultations on several key topics such as readers advisory (recommendations) or help with eBooks. Contact InfoService at 613-580-2940 or book a Library 1:1 session on our website.

Where can I use a public computer?

Upgrades to public computers, printers and photocopiers require those systems to be temporarily offline at these branches during installation:

  • Cumberland – July 30 to August 3
  • Carlingwood – August 9 and 10
  • Greenboro – August 16 and 17
  • Main – August 23 and 24

Thank you for your patience as we provide new systems to better serve you.

Otherwise, public computers can be used at the following open branches: Beaverbrook, Blackburn Hamlet, Carlingwood, Carp, Centennial, Constance Bay, Cumberland, Elmvale Acres, Emerald Plaza, Greely, Greenboro, Hazeldean, Main, Manotick, Munster, Nepean Centrepointe, North Gloucester, North Gower, Orléans, Osgoode, Richmond, Rideau, Rockcliffe Park, Rosemount, Ruth E. Dickinson, St. Laurent, Stittsville, Sunnyside, and Vanier.

Book a computer online up to three days in advance or call InfoService at 613-580-2940. Chromebook lending will continue, by request, for loans of up to three hours. Chromebooks are no longer reservable online. Please request one from a Library employee or contact Infoservice. Outdoor WiFi is available.

Branch employees can provide assistance at a safe distance, and may offer the use of the online print request form as an alternative printing method, if needed. Customers who use the online form will have a fee of 10 cents per page added to their account, which is payable in-branch by credit or debit. 

Where the new systems are in place, customers are encouraged to add funds, in advance of printing and photocopying, to the “Print copy funds” tab in their account, through the Library's online payment system (SmartPay).

Are appointments required to use a public computer?

Public computers can be reserved online. Book a computer online up to three days in advance or call InfoService at 613-580-2940.

Chromebook lending will continue, by request, for loans of up to three hours. Chromebooks are no longer reservable online. Please request one from a Library employee or contact Infoservice. Outdoor WiFi is available.

How do I book a computer?

Book a computer online up to three days in advance or call InfoService at 613-580-2940. Bookings are limited to one hour a day.

Can I access WiFi at branches?

Free WiFi is available outside 22 open branches: Alta Vista, Beaverbrook, Carlingwood, Carp, Centennial, Cumberland, Emerald Plaza, Elmvale Acres, Greenboro, Hazeldean, Main, Manotick, Nepean Centrepoint, North Gloucester, Orléans, Rideau, Rosemount, St. Laurent, Stittsville, Sunnyside, Vanier, and Ruth E. Dickinson. 

Instructions for use are posted on the doors. There is a limit of 10 people who can connect at a time. 

Additional WiFi hotspots will be based on community need, as supply increases. 

OPL will not provide shelter or seating. Customers are responsible for physical distancing and wearing a mask outside near branches, as per the Temporary Mandatory Mask By-law and provincial regulation.

Where can I return my library items?

Return items borrowed from the Library anytime via book drops at any open branch. The Bookmobile is also accepting returns. Returned items are no longer quarantined for 72 hours.

Will I be charged late fees if I don’t return my items right away?

OPL eliminated late fees on January 1, 2021. For more information, please visit our loan period and fees page.

Can I donate items?

Donations of used books will be accepted by the Friends of the Ottawa Public Library Association (FOPLA) at all open branches, but FOPLA bookstores remain closed until further notice. Donated books should be newer than 10 years old, be free from water damage and mold, and should not be missing pages or otherwise damaged. 

Do I need an appointment to pick up my holds?

You do not need an appointment to pick up your holds at any open branch. You can pick up your holds during hours of operation.

Signage at the branches will show you where to go to pick up your holds, and employees will be there, at a safe distance, to provide additional instructions.

How long will I have to pick up my holds?

Holds will be kept for 7 days. Holds at the Metcalfe Village branch will be kept on the shelves for 28 days. You need to pick up your holds before the Pick up by date on your holds notification email.

Do I have to pay a fee if I don’t pick up my holds?

A $1 fee will be charged for items on hold that are not picked up before their expiry date. You can manage, pause, or cancel holds in your online account.

Can I pick up holds for other people, like my children?

Yes! Please make sure to bring the library cards or card numbers for any accounts you are picking up holds for.

What do I need to do when I go to pick up my holds?

Cardholders will be able to return Library items and pick up holds without an appointment by lining up at the branch entrance while wearing their masks. Please make sure to bring your library card or card number in order to check out your holds.

Masks are required to be worn in line outside of Ottawa Public Library branches, as per the Temporary Mandatory Mask By-law and provincial regulation.

How long can I keep my checked out items?

The loan period for regular Library items is 21 days. Late fees were eliminated on January 1, 2021.

Loan periods for EXPRESS items are 3 days or 7 days, depending on the item.

Can I place new holds on library material?

Customers can reserve items, with a limit of 200 total holds (physical items) per customer.

How are you ensuring the safety of customers and employees?

The health and safety of our customers and employees is our highest priority.

  • MANDATORY: Masks are required to be worn inside and in line outside of Ottawa Public Library branches, as per the Temporary Mandatory Mask By-law and provincial regulation. Service will not be provided to customers who are not wearing masks. Exceptions apply for people with medical exemptions.
  • Branch capacity will be limited to ensure OPL is respecting provincial gathering limits and to ensure customers and employees can physically distance.
  • As a result of branch capacity limits, customers will be encouraged to limit in-branch time to ensure equitable access to everyone. Customers may have to wait outside if branch has reached capacity.
  • Physical distancing markers will be indicated at all open branches.
  • Customers are asked to follow directional signage. 
  • Hand sanitizer stands will be available at the entrance and exit of all branches offering in-person service. 
  • Check out machines are disinfected regularly.
  • Public computers are disinfected on a regular schedule.

Retour aux heures normales le 7 septembre 2021

03/09/2021

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa retournera à ses heures d'ouverture, d’avant la pandémie, dans la majorité des succursales et ce, à partir du mardi 7 septembre 2021 y inclus les heures d’ouverture le dimanche à dix succursales et à InfoService dès le dimanche 12 septembre. 

Les horaires sont affichés à l’entrée des succursales et sur horaires et emplacements dans le site web de la BPO. 

Les succursales Fitzroy Harbour et Vernon ouvrent la semaine du 7 septembre 2021, pour la première fois depuis le début de la pandémie en mars 2020. 

Kiosque hors service au Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre

13/09/2021

Le kiosque qui distribue des livres pour adultes au Hunt Club-Riverside Park Community Centre est hors service jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Succursale Rideau- Ascenseur hors service

15/09/2021

L'ascenseur de la succursale Rideau est actuellement hors service pour des raisons d'entretien et de réparations. Le service reprendra le lundi 27 septembre. 

You are here

Current Branch Services

À partir du mardi 7 septembre 2021,la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa (BPO) retournera à son service régulier, d’avant la pandémie, dans la majorité des succursales, horaires du dimanche inclus dans 10 succursales et InfoService. Les succursales et services ouverts le dimanche sont: Main, Beaverbrook, Cumberland, Greenboro, Nepean Centrepointe, Ruth E. Dickinson, North Gloucester, Orleans, Hazeldean , Stittsville et InfoService.

À l’exception de: La succursale Metcalfe village qui est ouverte les samedis de 10 h à 15 h pour le service de récupération et de retour. Les postes de retour sont ouverts 24h.

Réouverture:Les succursales Fitzroy Harbour and Vernon ouvrent dès la semaine du 7 septembre 2021.

Les horaires sont affiches à l’entrée des succursales et sous horaires et emplacements dans le site web de la BPO. La BPO continue de suivre les directives provinciales et les conseils de Santé publique Ottawa pour enrayer la propagation de la COVID-19 à Ottawa. Le port du masque et la distanciation physique dans les succursales demeurent donc obligatoires.

Quelles succursales offrent des services additionnels en personne?

Des services en personne sont offerts dans la plupart des 31 succursales ouvertes de la BPO, à l'exception de :

  • Alta Vista : fermée du 26 juillet au 8 août.
  • Metcalfe Village : services sans contact, mais pas d'accès aux ordinateurs publics.
  • Fitzroy Harbour et Vernon demeurent fermées. La BPO travaille à les rouvrir le plus rapidement possible.

Que puis-je faire à une succursale offrant des services additionnels en personne?

La capacité à l'intérieur des succursales, affichée à l'extérieur de chaque succursale ouverte, sera limitée pour permettre une distance physique de deux mètres, conformément aux règlements provinciaux. Il se peut que vous deviez attendre à l'extérieur si la limite est atteinte. Veuillez tenir compte des autres lorsque vous planifiez du temps en succursale pour assurer un accès équitable à tous. 

Le port du masque est obligatoire à l'intérieur et en file d'attente à l'extérieur de la succursale. La signalisation dans les succursales vous indiquera où aller pour récupérer vos demandes, et des employés seront là, à une distance sécuritaire, pour vous donner des conseils supplémentaires.

Tout en portant un masque, vous pouvez entrer dans les succursales pour récupérer vos demandes directement dans les rayons, pour consulter la collection et lire des journaux et des revues. Empruntez des laissez-passer pour les musées et les parcs, faites des dons de livres à l’Association des amis de la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa, utilisez l’Espace Imagine et des labos, ainsi que le kiosque au Centre communautaire Hunt Club-Riverside Park. Les services de bibliothèque en bordure de rue ou à l’entrée des centres de soins de longue durée reprendront également, là où cela est permis.

Retournez les articles de la bibliothèque à tout moment en les déposant dans les postes de retour des succursales ouvertes.

Les ordinateurs publics peuvent être réservés en ligne, en appelant InfoService au 613-580-2940, ou sur demande à votre succursale. Vous pouvez réserver un ordinateur en ligne en choisissant l’option « Réserver un ordinateur » sous l’onglet « Faire une réservation ». Vous pouvez réserver un ordinateur 3 jours à l'avance et les réservations sont limitées à une heure par jour. Les prêts de Chromebook de trois heures sur demande continueront, mais ils ne sont plus réservables en ligne. Veuillez en demander un auprès d'un employé de la bibliothèque. Le WiFi extérieur est disponible dans de nombreuses succursales.

L'accès aux imprimantes et aux photocopieuses est autorisé sur demande, lorsque celles-ci sont disponibles. Le formulaire de demande d'impression en ligne sera maintenu.

Comment puis-je réserver un ordinateur ou imprimer un document?

Les ordinateurs publics peuvent être réservés en ligne. Réservez un ordinateur en ligne jusqu'à trois jours à l'avance ou appelez InfoService au 613-580-2940. 

Les prêts de Chromebooks se poursuivront, sur demande, pour une durée maximale de trois heures. Les Chromebooks ne seront plus réservés en ligne. Veuillez en faire la demande par l'intermédiaire d'un employé de la bibliothèque ou en communiquant avec InfoService. Le WiFi extérieur est disponible à plusieurs succursales.

Les clients peuvent soumettre une demande d'impression en utilisant le formulaire sur le site Web de la BPO. Le compte du client sera facturé 10 cents par page.

Puis-je lire des journaux aux succursales?

Oui, vous pouvez lire des journaux et des revues dans les succursales. Vous pouvez aussi accéder aux journaux numériques ici.

Quelles sont les mesures d’adaptation prévues en matière d’accessibilité?

Si vous avez besoin de mesures d’adaptation, veuillez signaler à un employé vos besoins dès votre arrivée à la succursale.

Comment puis-je obtenir de l'aide en temps réel sans me rendre dans une succursale?

Le service Biblio tête-à-tête de la BPO comprend des consultations individuelles de 30 minutes sur plusieurs sujets clés tels que les conseils aux lecteurs (recommandations) ou l'aide avec les livres numériques. Communiquez avec InfoService au 613-580-2940 ou réservez une session Biblio tête-à-tête sur notre site Web.

Où puis-je utiliser un ordinateur public?

La mise à niveau des ordinateurs publics, des imprimantes et des photocopieurs exige que ces systèmes soient temporairement hors service pendant l’installation aux succursales suivantes :

  • Cumberland (du 30 juillet au 3 août)
  • Carlingwood (les 9 et 10 août)
  • Greenboro (les 16 et 17 août)
  • Centrale (les 23 et 24 août)

Nous vous remercions de votre patience pendant que nous mettons en place de nouveaux systèmes pour mieux vous servir.

Autrement, les ordinateurs publics peuvent être utilisés dans les succursales suivantes : Beaverbrook, Blackburn Hamlet, Carlingwood, Carp, Centennial, Centrale, Constance Bay, Cumberland, Elmvale Acres, Emerald Plaza, Gloucester Nord, Gower Nord, Greely, Greenboro, Hazeldean, Manotick, Munster, Nepean Centrepointe, Orléans, Osgoode, Richmond, Rideau, Rockcliffe Park, Rosemount, Ruth E. Dickinson, St. Laurent, Stittsville, Sunnyside et Vanier.

Réservez un ordinateur en ligne jusqu'à trois jours à l'avance ou appelez InfoService au 613-580-2940. Les prêts de Chromebooks pour une durée maximale de trois heures se poursuivront, sur demande. Les Chromebooks ne seront plus réservables en ligne. Veuillez en faire la demande auprès d'un employé de la Bibliothèque ou communiquer avec Infoservice. Le WiFi extérieur est disponible à de nombreuses succursales.

Les employés de la succursale peuvent vous aider à une distance sécuritaire et peuvent vous proposer l’utilisation du formulaire de demande d'impression en ligne comme méthode d'impression alternative, si nécessaire. Les clients qui utilisent le formulaire en ligne verront des frais de 10 cents par page ajoutés à leur compte, payables en succursale par carte de crédit ou débit.

Lorsque les nouveaux systèmes sont en place, les clients sont encouragés à ajouter des fonds, avant l'impression et la photocopie, à l'onglet « Fonds pour impression » de leur compte, via le système de paiement en ligne de la Bibliothèque (SmartPay).

Dois-je prendre rendez-vous pour utiliser un ordinateurs public?

Les ordinateurs publics peuvent être réservés en ligne. Réservez un ordinateur en ligne jusqu'à trois jours à l'avance ou appelez InfoService au 613-580-2940. 

Les prêts de Chromebooks pour une durée maximale de trois heures se poursuivront, sur demande. Les Chromebooks ne seront plus réservables en ligne. Veuillez en faire la demande auprès d'un employé de la Bibliothèque ou communiquer avec Infoservice. Le WiFi extérieur est disponible à de nombreuses succursales.

Comment puis-je réserver un ordinateur?

Les ordinateurs publics peuvent être réservés en ligne. Réservez un ordinateur en ligne jusqu'à trois jours à l'avance ou appelez InfoService au 613-580-2940. Les réservations sont limitées à une heure par jour.

Puis-je me connecter au WiFi des succursales?

Le WiFi gratuit est disponible à l’extérieur de 22 succursales ouvertes : Alta Vista, Beaverbrook, Carlingwood, Centennial, Centrale, Greenboro, North Gloucester, Rideau, St. Laurent, Stittsville, Vanier, Emerald Plaza, Elmvale Acres, Cumberland, Orléans, Rosemount, Sunnyside, Manotick, Carp, Hazeldean, Nepean Centrepointe et Ruth E. Dickinson. 

Les instructions pour se connecter au WiFi sont affichées sur les portes des succursales. Une limite de 10 personnes peuvent se connecter à la fois. 

Des bornes WiFi supplémentaires seront déterminés en fonction des besoins de la communauté, au fur et à mesure que l'offre augmentera. 

La BPO ne fournira pas d'abri ni de sièges. Les clients seront responsables de maintenir la distanciation physique et de porter un masque à l'extérieur près des succursales, conformément au Règlement temporaire sur le port obligatoire d’un masque et à la réglementation provinciale.

Où puis-je retourner mes articles?

Retournez vos articles empruntés de la Bibliothèque à tout moment en les déposant dans les postes de retour de n'importe quelle succursale ouverte. Le Bibliobus accepte également les retours. Les articles retournés ne sont plus mis en quarantaine pendant 72 heures.

Devrai-je payer des frais de retard si je ne retourne pas mes articles avant la date de retour?

La BPO a éliminé les frais de retard à compter du 1er janvier 2021. Pour plus de détails, consultez notre page sur les périodes d’emprunt et frais.

Puis-je faire un don d’articles?

Les dons de livres usagés seront acceptés par l'Association des amis de la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa (AABPO) dans toutes les succursales ouvertes, mais les librairies de l’AABPO restent fermées jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Les livres donnés doivent avoir moins de 10 ans, être exempts de dégâts d'eau et de moisissures, et ne doivent pas manquer de pages ou être endommagés de quelque manière que ce soit.

Devrai-je prendre rendez-vous pour récupérer mes articles réservés?

Vous n’avez pas besoin de prendre rendez-vous pour récupérer vos articles réservés qui sont disponibles. Vous pouvez récupérer vos articles réservés pendant les heures d’ouverture.

Des repères visuels clairs vous indiqueront où vous devez aller pour chercher vos articles réservés et des employés seront également sur place (à une distance sécuritaire) pour vous aider.

Quels sont les délais pour récupérer les articles réservés?

Les articles réservés demeureront sur les étagères pendant 7 jours. Les articles réservés à la succursale Metcalfe demeureront sur les étagères pendant 28 jours. Vous devez récupérer vos articles avant la Date limite identifiée dans votre avis de réservations.

Dois-je payer un frais si je ne récupère pas mes demandes?

Des frais de $1 s’appliqueront pour les demandes qui ne sont pas récupérées avant la date d’expiration. Vous pouvez gérer, suspendre ou annuler vos demandes dans votre compte en ligne.

Est-ce que je peux récupérer des articles réservés pour d’autres personnes, comme mes enfants?

Oui! Veuillez apporter toutes les cartes de bibliothèque ou numéros de carte pour les comptes avec les demandes que vous récupérez.

Que dois-je faire pour récupérer mes articles réservés?

Les titulaires de carte pourront récupérer ou retourner les articles de la Bibliothèque en faisant la file à l’entrée de la succursale. Des employés seront sur place (à une distance sécuritaire) pour vous aider. Veuillez apporter votre carte de bibliothèque ou numéro de carte afin d’emprunter vos demandes.

Le port du masque est obligatoire dans la file d’attente à l’extérieur des succursales de la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa, conformément au Règlement temporaire sur le port obligatoire d’un masque et à la réglementation provinciale.

Pendant combien de temps puis-je garder mes articles empruntés?

La période d’emprunt pour les articles de la collection régulière est 21 jours. Les frais de retard ont été éliminés à compter du 1er janvier 2021.

Les périodes d’emprunt pour les articles EXPRESS sont 3 jours ou 7 jours, dépendant sur l’article.

Est-ce possible de placer de nouvelles réservations sur des articles de bibliothèque?

Les clients peuvent réserver des articles de bibliothèque, avec une limite de 200 articles (physiques) réservés par client.

Quelles mesures prenez-vous pour assurer la sécurité des clients et du personnel?

La santé et la sécurité des clients et du personnel sont nos priorités absolues.

  • OBLIGATOIRE : Le port du masque est obligatoire à l'intérieur et dans la file d’attente à l’extérieur des succursales de la Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa, conformément au Règlement temporaire sur le port obligatoire d’un masqueet à la réglementation provinciale. Le service ne sera pas offert aux clients qui ne portent pas de masque. Des exceptions s'appliquent aux personnes avec exemption médicale.
  • La capacité des succursales sera limitée afin que la BPO puisse respecter les limites de rassemblement établies par la province, et que les clients et les employés puissent appliquer les consignes de distanciation physique.
  • En raison des limites de capacité des succursales, les clients sont encouragés à limiter leur temps en succursale afin de permettre un accès équitable. Il se peut que les client devront attendre à l’extérieur pour respecter la capacité des lieux.
  • Des repères visuels clairs favoriseront l’éloignement physique à toutes les succursales ouvertes.
  • Les clients sont priés de suivre les repères visuels.
  • Des stations de désinfection des mains sont aménagées à l’entrée et à la sortie de toutes les succursales qui offrent des services en personne.
  • Les postes de prêts sont désinfectés régulièrement.
  • Les ordinateurs publics sont désinfectés selon un horaire régulier.