How stories are told

How stories are told

Your story may be told in images or words. It may flash across a screen, be expressed through the movement of your own body, or be shared through the sound of your voice or the music you play. You might share your story the way you share a meal, honouring the flavours and scents of your traditions, and making them your own with a new twist. Your innovation and invention may be how you build the story of your future. Your story may cross borders and oceans, or it may be something you always keep close to home.

The  Ottawa Public Library will celebrate Canada 150 by exploring Storytelling through a different medium every month.

How to celebrate

You can join the Canada 150 festivities at the Ottawa Public Library by coming to our marquee events, taking part in our encore events, or attending our regular programs geared to the monthly storytelling theme.

Each month, the OPL will offer reading lists of Canadian content for each storytelling format. Branches will feature fun and innovative displays to showcase the OPL’s diverse and broad offering of Canadian titles

Comment raconter une histoire

Et vous, votre histoire, la racontez-vous avec des mots, des images? La projetez-vous sur un écran? L’exprimez-vous par le mouvement de votre corps, le son de votre voix, ou la musique que vous jouez? La racontez-vous comme on partage un repas, en honorant les saveurs et les parfums de vos traditions, mais en y ajoutant un zeste de votre touche personnelle? L’écrivez-vous à travers vos innovations et vos inventions? Votre récit traverse-t-il les frontières et les océans, ou bien l’écrivez-vous toujours à proximité de chez vous?

La Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa célébrera Canada 150 en explorant les multiples façons de raconter une histoire.

Comment célébrer

Vous pouvez vous joindre aux festivités du Canada 150 de la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa en participant à nos événements de marque, à nos événements en rappel, ou encore en participant à nos programmes réguliers qui seront axés sur les thèmes mensuels.

À chaque moi, la BPO offrira des conseils de lectures de contenu canadien pour chaque thème mensuel. Les succursales mettront en vedette l’étendu et la diversité des titres canadiens de la BPO avec l’aide de présentoirs intéressants.